Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portsmouth

Traditional small cosy hotel in a lovely town

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Three days to explore lovely area. Lovely town. Very comfortable and quiet hotel with a touch of luxury. Very good breakfasts.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Nice location

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: Location is in a prime spot, go visit Winchelsea (cliffs), Dungerness, Lamb house in Rye, Bodmin castle, Hastings, Rye Harbour. Hastings, Camber sands
Hotel was clean and tidy, staff were very friendly and welcoming. Room was a little dated and the door banged on the bed as you entered the room. Weak wifi certainly on my iPad. Ensuite was on the small side, didn't use any other amenities, such as breakfast, or the pool and spa, restaurants not open during our stay, but other than that it was reasonably priced in a good location. Lots to do in the town and other locations to visit a short drive away, found a treasure of a location at Winchelsea on the cliffs .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chelmsford

Shabby room, in need of an update

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Our room needed a total update/overhaul
We checked into the hotel and on entering our room noticed straight away how tired everything looked. The cover and "decorative" cushions on the bed were old, dirty and shiny from not being cleaned. The curtains were hanging off their rings. The towel rail in the bathroom was loose and detached from the wall, and the loo had a big brown stain in the bottom, that despite me scrubbing would not budge. I tried to book treatments for myself and my husband prior to arriving as recommended but the only time they could offer was ONE treatment an hour before we had to check-out!!!!! The pool/sauna/jacuzzi were ok, but the jacuzzi was the same temperature as the pool so not at all comfortable to sit in! Only plus side was the location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Old fashioned hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: The staff are mostly great. They are charming and helpful. The town is well worth the visit. The hotel's restaurant is very good.
Cons: Furnishings and plumbing are poor quality.
Location: Views, harbour, shops, tea rooms, restaurants and streets oozing medieval charm.
The hotel is in a great location for travellers wanting to stop overnight between GB and France. Mostly the staff are a delight - charming an helpful. The restaurant is good. There is a lot to see in this small port with its cobbled streets & attractive medieval houses that is well worth the visit. However, the hotel is let down by the rooms. We stayed in two of them. The standard room on our outward journey was small and cramped with an en-suite that only a small child would have called large. No mixer taps for the sink. On our return we upgraded to a larger room with a balcony. The furniture had seen better days. The en-suite was slightly larger but still no mixer taps on the sink. No porter o help with luggage. For £130 or £200 a night thiese rooms are vastly overpriced.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

was very disappointed

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: not much very dated which should have been the charm about it bad management by the way my wife and i have owned and run Pubs and Restaurants for 25
Cons: Manager
Outside of hotel was very untidy car parking was a tip there was outside seating but you wouldn't want to sit there the gardens were scruffy the rooms had no aircon which was made worse as windows wouldn't open our friend next to us there bathroom was a joke more like a doll house and the sink was so low it looked like the dogs bowl The Breakfast was poor no fresh fruit which is a norm today Staff were pleasant and people need warning about the amount of stairs with no lift we really struggled with Luggage
5 out of 5
by Pat

Lovely Hotel

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
Absolutely amazing Staff - nothing was too much trouble. I upgraded to a superior room and it was lovely. Would definitely recommend, we are going back in September to stay fo a wedding
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2017 on Ebookers
we came back to our room at 5.30pm to find the door ajar. I was not pleased. I spoke to reception and they apologised but didn't take it any further. The staff were actually pleasant apart from that. The rooms are really dated. The web pages certainly are improvement to what I experienced. The swimming pool for example was crowded with just 2 people.
4 out of 5
by Tracey

Fab Hotel!

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel in town. Lovely big room, bed comfortable. Nice touch with free bottled water in the room. Free toiletries were fab! Staff lovely & very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maidenhead

Two night stay.

Posted May 13, 2017 on Ebookers
This is a very good quality hotel only spoilt by ebookers not making it clear that breakfast was not included.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Delivers what you would expect

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: The restaurant food in Salts was excellent. Much better than most bland corporate affairs. Well worth a visit. The pool was great, all be it very smal
Cons: Having a cooked breakfast served was a lovely change from a corporate buffet. Infortunately both the kippers and haddock options weren't upto the full
Location: The town is amazing, we've stayed at Camber Sands MANY times and just love the village. We had always wanted to stay in the town
Great location, has al you could expect. The nice pool is a bonus. Staff were great, clean and tidy all round.