Ratings based on 171 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Lovely comfortable room, fabulous furnishings. Good breakfast and perfect location for exploring Rye.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

A pleasant interlude

Posted Jul 27, 2017
We were pleased that an easily accessible room was found off the courtyard on the ground floor for us due to my disability. Overall tho this hotel isn't really suitable for the physically challenged. It is on a hill and the pavements are very narrow. We were disappointed with the wifi quality in our room which kept coming and going (mostly going). Was a cause for concern as we were unable to keep in as good contact with an elderly parent with health problems as we hoped, unless we left our room. The staff said they would look into improving the reception with their technical people.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Eileen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Patricia

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice staff. Excellent breakfast selections. Great location.
4 out of 5
by gerald

Stay at rye

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Hotels
Was a lovely little town
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Warm welcome in more ways than One

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
A 4 day visit during the warmest week for decades. Excellent hotel, room 21 was almost perfect, the only drawbacks being it was a ground floor room with french windows, which meant that we had to open the door during the night to reduce the high temperature. A Small refrigerator would have been useful to have kept our drinking water cold. . Staff and.Breakfast were excellent Car parking was less than 5 minutes away. It is ideal as a base to visit the many attractions in or near Rye.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted May 28, 2017
Beautiful room(number 45) friendly staff and delicious good. A perfect spot to wander and go to the beach in Camber Sands. We had a great time thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from kent, uk

Great town centre location. Charming period hotel

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Location. Period property. Well maintained. Great staff.
Cons: Room was cramped with too much time snide leaving little room to move about, change etc.
Location: Centre of delightful historic town surrounded by beautiful coast and inland walking. Plenty to do and see particularly if your a keen walker
One night stay. Superior room (4) which although clean, nicely decorated, was very small and cramped. Perhaps the old saying "less is more" applies. However, the staff were lovely and attentive, the hotel was well maintained and right in the centre of Rye. Local parking was fine and we would certainly visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted May 24, 2017
The George in Rye is the perfect village hotel. The building is old and charming, the decoration is very tasteful , the attention to detail is present in everything regarding the room. (We had room 11). The bed was super comfortable, the linens were soft and the toiletries great. We had tea and it was delicious. Staff are very attentive . Breakfast in general is very good. Would recommend and would be happy to return.