Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Lovely stay and welcomed our dog with open arms. We enjoyed our free upgrade to a junior suite. Super old school quaint AA 3 star hotel.
1 out of 5
by MICHAEL

Couldn't find it -gave up on it!

Posted Sep 2, 2017 on Hotels
Rye is mainly narrow streets and my satnav lead me around these but I didn't see hotel. Parked out of the centre and walked around asking directions from two different people. Still didn't see it. Wet and dejected I went elsewhere and got charged a night's cancellation fee. I ought to have remembered similar experiences in small Spanish towns and booked somewhere outside of Rye.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Robert

A Wonderful Stay in Beautiful Rye

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful location, wonderful staff, all helpful and attentive to your every need. The hotel has a prominent position up on the cliff, visible from the river, and is located within a few minutes walk of everything you want to see. We also ate in the hotel restaurant, I can honestly say the Romney Marsh Leg of Lamb was one of the best cuts of meat I've ever eaten. I would most definitely recommend this hotel and beautiful Rye.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: Friendly hotel staff and nice food.
Location: It has great views, only short distance to walk to see all the sights of Rye.
Stayed here for just one night to enjoy Rye and have a few drinks. Nice room on the top floor. Nice evening meal and breakfast. We managed to get parked but when really busy this might be problematic. This is the only negative.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small room

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly host. Room too small with furniture. Bed comfortable. Small shower room. Old caractor hotel near nice walking area but I feel it was over charged for such an small room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming bed and breakfast

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: the warm welcome from the hosts and the cute rooms
We enjoyed our stay at Hope Anchor, the host were all very accommodating and friendly, they were very helpful in figuring train schedule for us and we enjoyed nice conversation in the little pub on site. The room was very clean and comfortable, we had a little apartment with fabulous views. We could easily walk to center of town and to the train station. Very nice in all aspects.
3 out of 5
by sara

An okay hotel in a great location

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed at the Hope and Anchor as we were visiting for a wedding in the local area. The location of the hotel is great and is easy to walk into Rye Town which is lovely. The staff at the Hope and Anchor were very friendly and very helpful and they allowed us to have an early check in which was really helpful. The hotel was very clean and the room was okay. The bed was comfortable and we had a nice view over the river. The hotel/rooms are a little dated but some could say this adds to its charm. I do think the room at £120 was a little over pried in my opinion, but not by much. And it did include breakfast which in all fairness is a good rate. I wasn't that keen on the breakfast, although a great choice and the fresh croissants were delicious, I did think the cooked breakfast was a little oily for my liking, as most of it tasted like it had been in a deep fat fryer and just tasted of oil. Overall, a pleasant stay and the staff made the hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent

Convenient place

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: The food was excellent
Cons: Decor , in need of up lifting
Location: Rye is a beautiful place and this hotel is excellent for location
In excellent location but looking very tired now . In need of T L C. which is a shame . Unless the standard is kepted up you will gradually lose custom .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
Great location in the centre of Rye. Quiet and comfortable.