Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Grand old world hotel. Had a very romantic and relaxing getaway with my husband. Highly recommend if you're looking for some R&R. Although the town that the hotel is located within is quiet, The hotel is well situated and there are plenty of towns within a 30-40 min drive that can be easily visited. Both the hotel grounds and facilities are stunning!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for sharing your feedback. We are very pleased to know you had a pleasant stay with. We look forward to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards, Alberto Depau General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Regina, Canada

Dream Location

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Location, location location. Great service and very elegant
I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone looking for comfort, elegance and location. The service was terrific. The location is amazing. Close to a good beach and a great waking path along the coast to a secluded second beach. We will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Francisco Bay Area, California, USA

Quiet resort hotel next to a lovely beach cove.

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Attentive staff, ample room size, location.
Location: Boating, water skiing, kayaking, swimming, hiking.
Had a wonderful time! I was able to rest and relax. In this quiet beach town. Our hotel overlooks a lovely beach cove where the water has gentle waves that allows young children to swim easily. Nice restaurants are nearby at different price ranges. Food is good, but can be expensive along the waterfront. Enjoyed the immaculate pool and the views. Staff spoke English and were very attentive and helpful. Our room was cleaned twice a day and the staff was very prompt in addressing our needs. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone searching for a quiet, beautiful place to get away to.
5 out of 5
by Tom from Manchester

Luxury break in great location

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Hotels
You need a GPS or the instructions to find the hotel as the road signs for the hotel appear randomly along the route and not at each turn. One arrival you feel as though you have stepped back to a gentler time. The whole feel is spacious. Although the reception desk is small it is set in a large open space. The welcome was warm and friendly showing us to the room whilst the cases were taken up by a separate route. The room which had a terrace was light an spacious. The bathroom was well appointed with a separate walk in shower. Breakfasts were well catered with plenty of variety. We ate in the Gaslight Grill on a couple of occasions and the food was excellent both times. On one of the nights the meals were served outside on the terrace which was particularly romantic. We struggled to come up with an adequate word to describe the service and I settled for measured. They don't rush but not in a slacker sort of way more of it is unseemly to be seen dashing. They are are attentive and helpful. The pool area is very impressive with an aspect over the bay with a very refreshing salt water pool with plenty of sunbeds and shade. All in all we have a very relaxing break there.
5 out of 5
by Mark from BOURNEMOUTH

Total relaxation? This is the place to go

Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
Arriving at the hotel sets the scene for a great stay. Beach mercy to the hotel, amazing properties and a friendly security guard in a hut to finish it off. The hotel itself is just wow, with it capturing very period features and furniture,but with them looking like they were made last week. It's an extremely well looked after place and the staff were all excellent. Great pool to sit around and you even get a great view of the coast from your elevated position. We went or of season, so certainly foot good value and not people around. The only down side were the guests to be honest. A bit stuffy ans wanting to look their best all the time... It's a holiday people! It was interesting also to see several elderly gentlemen who had obviously brought along their daughters to enjoy the holiday with them. One man had brought two of his daughters... How nice :)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
The perfect weekend getaway to relax with your partner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Nice hotel with excellent facilities

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Location, helpful and friendly staff, cleanness, great facilities
Cons: It will be great to have more information about the history of the hotel and places around
Location: We spend most of our time walking along the coast line. One would need a car for visiting places there, so we haven't manage to do that...
The hotel is at the most beautiful location and offers everything one needs for relaxation. I travelled on my own and all hotel staff was very welcoming and helpful in accommodating everything I need. Although I didn't stay in the room with a sea view, my window was overlooking a beautiful park and I was able to hear the sea at night. This was very relaxing. The room was serviced twice every day and I had beautiful fresh linen every night. Food was excellent with a choice of restaurants and a bar at the hotel, so I ended up having almost all my meals in the hotel. The Spa at the hotel offers a lot of different treatments and massage which I tried, and again this was great. I am planning to stay at the Hostal de la Gavina again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A romantic getaway

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: The view, The Architecture and the friendly staff
This is one of the most romantic and enchanting hotels we have stayed in
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 7, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Samuels

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2014 on Hotels