Ratings based on 384 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Next to highway but close to airport and BC Ferry

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: Has a den to relax, restaurant and bar and liquor vendors attached to building. MacDonald's across the street and service station beside building.
Cons: Rooms could use an upgrade.
Location: Nice drive from the hotel to Victoria along the coast.
Hotel was under renovations. Someone had left the water running in the bath tub and it damaged at least three rooms. Some guests had to go to other hotels. This was arranged by the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Posted May 24, 2017
I was pleasantly surprised by the quality, given the very reasonable price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nanaimo bc

Tudor style..... more character than most

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Location and style of architecture
Cons: Get rid of the musty 1980's carpeting throughout the hotel....hardwood floors throughout would be about all this place needs to bring it into the 20th
1980's decor but nice drawing room with fireplace and not bad pub food
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Homey

Posted May 16, 2017
Like being in an old English country Inn. Some much needed updatinf is taking place on the rooms. Clean comfy friendly. Loved the fire in the library for breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in need of updating

Posted May 10, 2017
Lovely staff, great location. Hotel is in dire need of updating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted May 1, 2017
Unfortunately hotel is under renovation so difficult to accurately assess it. Location is good. Great pub attached to it. Check was quick and easy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Presently being renovated so rooms are limited

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Location handy to both Victoria and ferry to US ferry
Overall good for the hotel food in the Pub was lacking
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed was extremely hard.

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: New mattresses.
Location: Restaurant nearby and main Hwy also very close.
Ok. Overall hotel was pleasant and did their best .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short hop from the airport with 24 hour check-in

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Staff, shower and the breakfast room
Cons: pillows
Location: It is close to the airport
This was our hotel for the first night on the island and was an excellent way to kick off the visit. The rooms were very satisfactory, the staff was very accommodating, and the shower was excellent. If you put a value to a shower that has a consistently perfect temperature, exactly the right pressure, and cleanliness than this is a 10 out of 10. This stay for us was a winner and we will be using it again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Terribly noisy, constant construction.

Posted Apr 25, 2017
My family and I all booked rooms at this hotel for a wedding many months ago. I assumed that because we booked in advance, we would be given better room options. All of us were on the busy street side of the hotel with a lot of traffic noise. In addition, the windows were being redone on our side and the workers were constantly banging on our windows. It was as if they were inside our rooms. I understand the need to improve the hotel and replace windows but I don't think it was necessary to place us in the exact rooms that were being worked on. Another wedding guest booked much later than us and was given a quieter room with a mini fridge. I won't recommend this hotel to friends or family.