Ratings based on 416 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

Great home away from home

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: the charm and care taken to make you feel welcome and comfortable. Affordable.
Cons: nothing
Location: Close to the highway and the airport. Easy to get around town without being downtown if you have a car.
The place is clean and has an atmosphere that is missing in most hotels today. The charm of the place is calming and relaxing. Great care is taken in the details to make the hotel feel cozy and unique. It is based on an English Tudor style hotel and the artworks reflect this theme. The burgers in the restaurant are excellent!! as is the pints of beer. The beds are comfortable and the rooms large enough so you don't feel cramped. Excellent place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria Australia

This place is a Gem!

Posted Oct 27, 2017
This place is exactly as advertised which is great. I was a bit hesitant after noting it was a pub as well, but no worries there, no noise. This has got be one of the cleanest bathrooms I’ve ever seen in a hotel. The breakfast is held in the Library- how cool is that! Located 15-20 minutes from Victoria harbour and about 10 minutes from Sidney. The Waddling Dog is perfect for checking out the east of Vancouver Island. Would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Excellent theming and very clean!

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Looked at a lot of hotels for our stay on Victoria and loved the look and prior reviews of the Waddling Dog. It did not disappoint! Great staff and service, good breakfast, and very clean and welcoming rooms. Highly recommended, I wish I could find hotels like this everywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver bc

Convenient location for ferry

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Old fashioned (in a good way) . Great bed, pillows and duvet. Lovely bathroom
Cons: More seating for the included breakfast
Location: Easy to get to ferry. McDoalds and gas stayion close by. Also there is a pub attached to the hotel
Quiet, large room. Arrived quite late and was in my room very quickly
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from whitby, on

Quaint Hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
This hotel was fine - cute Tudor style with an old-fashioned bent to it. They were under renovation when we stayed, so the hallways and common areas were cluttered. The room itself was pretty nice, and the bathroom was great.
5 out of 5
by Carol

This is the place!!!

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
Can't say enough about our stay! The location of the Waddling Dog was easy to find when coming off of Brentwood Ferry, only minutes from Butchard Gardens and so close to the many wonderful shops within the town. We appreciated the quiet, the pleasantly spacious, very clean and cool room with all the hotel amenities! The beds are extremely comfortable. Reception excellent- immediate, warm, friendly! Breakfast consisted of a very wide variety from which one can choose. We highly recommend and, will stay again at this hotel! Thank you, staff of the Waddling Dog!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice visit

Posted Aug 15, 2017
It was nice that they accepted our dogs and the staff were helpful.
5 out of 5
by J

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 6, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Brunswick

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Liked the look of the room, especially the doors and beams in ceiling. Bathroom was recently renovated but there was no room (i.e. comparrments or cubby hole) in shower to put stuff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Parksville BC

Shades of old England.

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Covered in first comment.
Cons: Covered in first comment.
Location: Covered in first comment.
The Waddling Dog sounds and looks like old England. For years I had admired the Inn. Now I needed lodging in the area and looked forward to experiencing The Waddling Dog. The timing wasn't great because the Inn was being renovated. I expect when completed, it will be wonderful. It definitely needs updating, but being in the middle of renos was disappointing. Breakfast was adequate but not exciting. Staff members were friendly and helpful. Excellent location for air and ferry departures. Close to the world famous Butchart Gardens.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Rodney & Myrna, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. I am sorry the renovations were ongoing during your stay, but I am happy to say we have completed the work and The Waddling Dog is better than ever. Even breakfast got a lift with the addition of the waffle machine (It smells amazing in here). I hope to see you again soon.