Ratings based on 408 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Excellent theming and very clean!

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Looked at a lot of hotels for our stay on Victoria and loved the look and prior reviews of the Waddling Dog. It did not disappoint! Great staff and service, good breakfast, and very clean and welcoming rooms. Highly recommended, I wish I could find hotels like this everywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver bc

Convenient location for ferry

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Old fashioned (in a good way) . Great bed, pillows and duvet. Lovely bathroom
Cons: More seating for the included breakfast
Location: Easy to get to ferry. McDoalds and gas stayion close by. Also there is a pub attached to the hotel
Quiet, large room. Arrived quite late and was in my room very quickly
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from whitby, on

Quaint Hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
This hotel was fine - cute Tudor style with an old-fashioned bent to it. They were under renovation when we stayed, so the hallways and common areas were cluttered. The room itself was pretty nice, and the bathroom was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice visit

Posted Aug 15, 2017
It was nice that they accepted our dogs and the staff were helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Brunswick

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Liked the look of the room, especially the doors and beams in ceiling. Bathroom was recently renovated but there was no room (i.e. comparrments or cubby hole) in shower to put stuff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Parksville BC

Shades of old England.

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Covered in first comment.
Cons: Covered in first comment.
Location: Covered in first comment.
The Waddling Dog sounds and looks like old England. For years I had admired the Inn. Now I needed lodging in the area and looked forward to experiencing The Waddling Dog. The timing wasn't great because the Inn was being renovated. I expect when completed, it will be wonderful. It definitely needs updating, but being in the middle of renos was disappointing. Breakfast was adequate but not exciting. Staff members were friendly and helpful. Excellent location for air and ferry departures. Close to the world famous Butchart Gardens.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Rodney & Myrna, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. I am sorry the renovations were ongoing during your stay, but I am happy to say we have completed the work and The Waddling Dog is better than ever. Even breakfast got a lift with the addition of the waffle machine (It smells amazing in here). I hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bby

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Close to the ferry. Nice place having some remodelling done. They offered us free meals in the pub but we already had eaten.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unfortunate Switch-a-Roo

Posted Jun 20, 2017
Pros: The only thing we experienced was the food in the restaurant for supper and at the free breakfast in the morning. Both were good.
We had a reservation for the Quality Inn Waddling Dog, but unfortunately never got the opportunity to actually stay there. They had a guest who started a tub running and then left the room. The tub overflowed ruining a number of rooms. We were called the morning of the day we were supposed to be staying there and told that they could no longer accommodate us. They offered to reserve a room at a place across the road from them. Since at that late date we would have little luck finding our own replacement accommodations we accepted the offer. Unfortunately the quality of the replacement motel -- Western 66 Motel -- did not compare at all. And although there was a slight cost savings it was not worth the unpleasant night we spent there. We were invited to return to the Quality Inn Waddling Dog breakfast in the morning, which we did. It was good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Closed for maintenance

Posted May 30, 2017
Staff was excellent in finding alternative accommodation
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Next to highway but close to airport and BC Ferry

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: Has a den to relax, restaurant and bar and liquor vendors attached to building. MacDonald's across the street and service station beside building.
Cons: Rooms could use an upgrade.
Location: Nice drive from the hotel to Victoria along the coast.
Hotel was under renovations. Someone had left the water running in the bath tub and it damaged at least three rooms. Some guests had to go to other hotels. This was arranged by the hotel.