Ratings based on 590 Verified Reviews

2.4 out of 5
31% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Never any Super 8 again

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Dirty sheets and filthy blankets. Food on carpet. Horrible experience with any motel ever. Should have seen reviews before going. My fault.
1 out of 5
by james

Filthy hotel that should be closed.

Posted Oct 30, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is the dirtiest building I have ever stayed in. The rooms are dirty, the toilets and bathroom has never been cleaned. The bedding is worm out and the top sheet had whole in it. In addition the room had never been vacuumed or dusted. The electrical outlets cove plates are missing and the television controller did not function, There is no night security and all doors on the outside of the building do not lock. Hotel entrance is filthy, carpets not cleaned and more fingerprints and smears on the front door than you can imagine. This structure should be visited by municipal health services as well as the fire department for violations,. There were several in our party and their stories are worse than my experience.
4 out of 5
by Bryan

Super 8 on the Island

Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
It was a relaxing 2 days. Wifi was patchy. Chair at the table was worn and uncomfortable when sitting doing paperwork. Overall as I said a good relaxing stay.
1 out of 5
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from salt spring island, bc

Filthy

Posted Oct 18, 2017
If cleanliness is important for you in a hotel, then definitely avoid this one. Carpets were filthy, lots of hair in the shower, and on the pillow, sock fluff on the sheets under the blanket etc. Missed the last ferry of the night and our usual places in Sidney were sold out so we took a chance here. Next time if the same happens we'd rather sleep in the car than revisit this Super 8. The only thing "Super" was in how super dirty it was. The receptionist at check in was fine and friendly for the 1 minute we interacted with him, so no complaints there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kingston, ON

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Location. It's near the Patricia Bay Highway, close to the airport and ferry terminal. There is also a McDonalds across the street.
Cons: Lots...start with honesty in fees. Don't surcharge the customer. Daily garbage removal would be nice. So would replacing towels.
Location: Eat at McDonalds...then leave to go somewhere nice.
The price Expedia quoted wasn't the price they charged. This hotel wanted a premium price because it was Thanksgiving weekend in Canada. I don't mind paying a premium, but think that it's fair if I know that in advance. So, Expedia's at fault here too. The hotel offers value but don't expect much. Room garbage is cleaned every other day...used towels are treated the same way. There is one light in the room but fortunately it is on a long cord so it can be used as a desk light and bedside table light.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will never stay there again.

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness.
Location: Location is close to airport. Pub & restaurants nearby.
The place is filthy. Room and stairwell carpets have apparently not been cleaned in years. Bedspread was dirty, pillow smelly. Debris from previous occupants left under bed shows vacuuming not done thoroughly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2017
The room was dirty we stayed for 3 nights and we had to ask for more towels ect also the bathroom very got cleaned. The staff was good and changed our room due to the one we had smelt like smoke and we asked for a non smoking room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from victoria bc

It felt outdated

Posted Oct 7, 2017
I needed a hotel to stay for 1 night, as I was attending a wedding and found this place. The hotel felt outdated. The carpeting, bed sheets, the curtains and the tv look like they have not been replaced since they have opened. I don’t think I’ll be staying there again anytime soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mold and dirty

Posted Oct 2, 2017
It was the worst hotel experience...there was mold on the bathroom floor and shower curtains, dirt everywhere...I shudder just thinking about it...Ilooking back I should of contacted the department of health