Ratings based on 501 Verified Reviews

2.4 out of 5
33% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ont. Canada

Staff /management ignore complaints about noise

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: It wasn't far from the airport but we noticed there were other motels as well that will we choose now instead of Super *.
Cons: The staff need to stand behind their customers who are subjected to noise and other inconsiderate irritable offences being inflicted upon.
Location: Airport isn't far. Victoria is within driving distance.
My husband and I were looking forward to our 36 th Anniversary getaway to Victoria, B.C. and chose to stay at an average priced motel to save on expenses. The motel was relatively clean and not far from the airport but every night there were loud noises and banging, coming from the room above our room. I called the front desk numerous times to complain, every night, and ask to be moved to a different room but they said they couldn't due to that they were filled. There was jumping off the beds..running back and forth constantly from what we figured were undisciplined children and loud walking back and forth from room to room by the adult(s). This went on the whole length of our stay and even though the front deks said they would contact them to complain..the noise continued. Needless to say my husband and I didn't get much sleep and were very groggy the next mornings. I even suggested to the staff that we switch rooms with these rude, inconsiderate individuals but they wouldn't accomodate that request either. Not impressed at all and will not be going back to this motel again. Stay away if you want a good night's sleep and staff that care enough to help.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2017
It was simple and low price! Comfortable and clean so far, kinda outdated compared to other super 8 motels but was the cheapest so far!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ab

Dirty, grimy, disgusting

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Hotel appears to be ok but the rooms have been smoked in. There was a stale odour of second hand smoke yuk!! Also the kitchen area where continental breakfast were to be served was very dirty, cupboards grimy. I will never book a room from Super 8. The pictures do not match the actual room
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northern ontario

Cheap motel and not worth 10.00 of our money

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Dirty, safe didn't work, duck tape on bathroom pipes, t.v remote not workings and assistant manager is a lier. Lied about who he was. Pretended to be just a regular staff member. But the evening worker was ok.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Nice to be close to the ferry Staff was friendly

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Good dollar value Friendly staff Rooms not clean Need through cleaning
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Needs work

Posted Jul 8, 2017
The tv remote didn't work coffee maker was missing parts the bed was old and hard
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lake Country, BC

Terrible-wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Nothing. We were all so disgusted with the filth we had a very uncomfortable stay. It was particularly difficult to get past the toe nail clippings.
Cons: Anything would be an improvement. It is in dire need of a good cleaning & replacing all of the stained items, which was pretty much everything.
Location: Close to the airport, wineries, Butterfly Gardens & Butchart Gardens. A long way from downtown.
Upon arriving, we noted that the lobby floor was filthy - our shoes stuck to the floor. We vowed never to eat the breakfast that was served there daily. The stair and hallway carpets were stained & in obvious need of vacuuming & cleaning. At the top of the stairs the carpet had stretched, leaving humps that posed a trip hazard. Our room cleanliness was not any better. On the floor, between the beds, were someone else's toe nail clippings...yes, TOE NAIL CLIPPINGS... and the carpet was again, badly stained, as were even the lamp shades! In addition to this, there was hair in the bathtub, making us wonder if it had actually been cleaned. I phoned around Victoria to see if any other rooms were available, but being the Canada Day long weekend anything within our budget was booked. We decided to make the best of it by requesting a vacuum.The housekeeping staff was gone for the day, leaving the lone desk clerk at the front. So my husband set about vacuuming our room. I wish I had taken a video, so much dirt & debris were vacuumed up. We purchased disinfecting wipes & wiped down the bathroom & requested fresh bedding, not being certain that it had been changed. All the clerk could find were 2 top sheets for the 2 beds. As a chain hotel, I can not believe that they still have their franchise. Other than being close to the airport & the venue for the wedding we attended, that is all this hotel has going for it. All I can say to anyone contemplating this hotel is DO NOT DO IT!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Price and staff. Tired and very basic room.

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Hotel is significantly cheaper than those in area. The location is not ideal but there is a McDonalds, a pub and a liquor store very close by. Only 7Km to airport and Sidney. Very old and tired furnishings.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pick another hotel!

Posted Jun 27, 2017
When we checked in we asked the desk clerk a couple of questions about where to eat and how to get to a tourist attraction- no help. The carpet was filthy, the beds uncomfortable, and the "continental breakfast" had a juice machine out of order and very little else. I know it is a Super 8, but I do expect clean rooms and helpful front desk workers.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port Alberni

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Not very clean,run down building. hard beds. would not recommend this place