Ratings based on 407 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Not the best hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Pros: The view is nice
Cons: The all-inclusive needs 100% improvement. More food options food at all times and food definitely when you arrive. Staff needs to be re-trained
Location: There is nothing to do around the hotel. far from everything and no entertainment on site either. Only good to go rest not for fun.
I never write a review but for this hotel I have to. First of all it is not an all-inclusive hotel since there was hardly any food or any food choices. Water was not included and the refrigerators in the rooms were empty. The staff most of them don't care and give you attitude. How it got 4.1 stars I will never know. There was iguana poop all over and it was never cleaned up an during the food birds were flying all over the place and no one even tried to get them away from the food. If you do not get an ocean view room the garden rooms are very small it will only comfortably fit two people but not a family of four.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lodge by the beach

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Nice lodge with great ocean views and it is on the beach. The manager was very welcoming and receptive to our needs. However, there was a staff member who was not too friendly. Great ocean view room and super comfortable. They provided clean amenities. This is a great place to be isolated from the city but there is a free shuttle to Wilemstad. The food could have had more variety but for an all inclusive booking in the Netherlands antilles, it was a good deal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dilapidated Hotel in a Beautiful Setting

Posted May 30, 2017
Location: Be sure to visit Boca Tabla Park for the sea caves. There is a blowhole about 15 minutes from the hotel. Spend an afternoon at Williamstead,
Avoid the all inclusive plan as the lunch and dinner are basically white rice and overcooked tasteless chicken. There is also a problem with birds eating from, and walking in, the serving spoons. There is a fair amount of bird poop on the central sculpture, which needs to be cleaned. We ended up eating elsewhere even though the all inclusive was already paid for. Thus you will need a rental car. The dining room staff never offered to bring us drinks, even though they were not doing anything else. We stayed in an ocean front room with a patio that was beautifully landscaped and had a fabulous view! Be sure to book a junior suite. There are lots of tiny ants in the bathroom but they did not bother us. The A/C worked well. The scuba diving is good, with good visibility. The dive operator - Go West- is excellent. I would stay here again, but would avoid avoid eating here. This is a problem because it is remote. Three stars out of five.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach but comes with a caveat

Posted Apr 20, 2017
The good news is that you are right on the beach, and the beach is beautiful. But the food at this hotel is god awful. Truly terrible. If you stay here, definitely rent a car so you have the freedom to eat somewhere else during your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Curacao

Our stay at Kura Hulanda Westpunt

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: We liked the food of the resort, the sandy beach downstairs, the quietness of the resort, nature and the staff is very helpful and always smiling.
Cons: The bed mattress should be improved (harder) and a new paint job to the outside of the suites to make it more beautiful.
We've had a very short vacation (3 nights) stay at Kura Hulanda Westpunt. It was super relaxing. We enjoyed it a lot. Especially the quietness of the resort. We stayed in the Junior Suite, Ocean View. Waw.....we enjoyed the sunset and took a lot of pictures. The suite is clean, spacious and beautiful. They kept the antique accessories which is the history of the resort. The view is super great. You have a balcony also. If you want to have a quite vacation away from the everything, then this is the place to be. If you love nature, then this is the place to be. The food is super delicious and with a great staff ready to help you with everything you need. I really recommend this resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

Beautiful View of Beach

Posted Apr 5, 2017
I really enjoyed the view of the ocean from the hotel and being right on the water. It is far from the city but their is a complimentary shuttle to take you to town in the morning and returns in the afternoon. The staff is lovely and very friendly! I would recommend this hotel to a couple or family traveling.
5 out of 5
by Abigail

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Deirdre

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was wonderful. Very hospitable. Very far (40 minutes from main town) so if seclusion is what you want this place is it. You definitely need a car.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the "hype'

Posted Mar 14, 2017
no site map, drove past lobby because no sign, in the middle of nowhere, no food option outside of the hotel ($30usd per person buffet dinner or nothing); deadbolt did not work, mini fridge had type a plug but there was nothing but type C in the oom, use own converter to find out fridge did not work, safe (both of them) not functional, nothing to do other than swim in the pool/ocean and read (shuffle board would be nice)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2017
We enjoyed our one night stay at Kura Hulanda Lodge. It is quite a drive from the airport, but once you get there, it is so peaceful and you are right by the beach. My husband and I stayed in one of the rooms with a garden view and it was great! It was like living in a treehut, but with all the amenities. Staff were very pleasant. The restaurant is out in the open right near the ocean. You need to watch your food closely as the birds will swoop down and steal it, if you're not careful. All in all, a very nice place.