Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mexico

Beautiful hotel, delicious food, friendly staff

Posted May 20, 2016
The tinga lodge at lion sands look as if you took it out of an architectural digest magazine. the hotel is beautiful, the food was amazingly good, so creatively presented and its nice that the menu has various options so you will definitely find something you like. The rooms are very big, pretty and comfortable. The mini bar was included as well as all drinks, and they make sure you always have food or drinks with you. Our ranger and tracker were very very good. Our ranger Joe explained everything, it was very informative, we learned a lot. This is definitely a plus in this hotel. We went to another safari were the ranger did not explain much and it does make a huge difference. We got to see the big 5 many times, we got pretty close to the animals. It was a great experience. I would recommend this hotel for a honeymoon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
From start to finish an amazing holiday and hotel. Nobody can have a bad experience here. Worth every penny. Enjoy
5 out of 5
by kiwa from NYC

A life changing experience

Posted Feb 28, 2016 on Hotels
Lion sands was probably the most beautiful stay and moreover experience i ever had. Not only did we see tons of wildlife, the staff and guide + tracker team were out of this world, charming and caring, kind and fun, doing everything to make our stay the most agreeable. We felt like we were with family and truly believe this is an experience like no other. It's a must do and see, one to hold and cherish. Thank you for making it all so perfect and surprising us along the way with your kindness and attentions.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami Beach, FL

Stunning hotel with amazing views

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Beautiful hotel, located by the river. The few rooms make the hotel very private, and exclusive. Hotel staff was very friendly, helpful and professional. Suites are beautifully decorated, comfortable and very elegant. Food was excellent. The only negative thing was that some of the staff member were quite pushy with wanted to get tips, and it was quite frustrating at times. But only 2/3 staff members were like that. Other than that it was a very nice stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Employees on strike

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Pros: Great Game drives
Cons: Train properly your personnel.
Location: You're very close to the airport and many animals to watch in Kruger
Way too expensive for what you get. Former employees were on strike outside the hotel yelling and screaming all day long which made it imposible to rest and take advantage of a hotel as expensive as this one. Many hotels on the surrounding areas which are cheaper, newer and better. Avoid this one if you can.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Lions Sands Tinga Lodge - Exceptional

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: We especially like the cleanliness and accommodating staff.
Cons: The only small inconvenience was the wifi which went a bit on and off.
Location: The sole,purpose for this lodge is the game viewing and restful accommodations.
We stayed at the Lion Sands Tinga Lodge and the stAff could not have been friendlier or accommodating. Frankly, our expectations were exceeded. Our ranger and game spotter were exceptional, very knowledgeable and able to find the prize game. My wife and I highly recommend this lodge.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels
il n'y avais pas un fauteuil pendant notre sejour...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from düsseldorf

Wahnsinn - einer der tollsten Plätze

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Unglaublich fähiges und freundliches Personal. Warm und herzlich, jederzeit mit Namen angesprochen und umsorgt und überrascht. Zimmer sind einfach nur perfekt. Sauber, modern, stilvoll. Aus unserem Pool konnten wir Elefanten, Büffel und Kudus beobachten. Immer wieder gern und der doch hohe Preis ist mehr als gerechtfertigt.
5 out of 5
by DMLoria from Manhattan, New York, NY, USA

A luxurious magical place in Wild Africa

Posted May 27, 2013
Pros: The safari drive was amazing. We saw kudus, elephants, lions, giraffes, black rhinoceros, white rhinoceros, springboks, warthogs, impalas, and more...
Amazing experience from the first minute you get picked up from the airport to when you leave. Everyone was very attentive, friendly and accommodating. You're greeted by the manager and the whole staff. The great hall is tastefully decorated and has a view of the river bank. At anytime of the day you'll see animals visiting the area feeding on the vegetation. The food is excellent, fresh and delicious. The morning and afternoon safari drives were exciting and fun. Morning drives are capped off by coffee, tea and treats. Afternoon drives are rewarded by drinks and snacks at sunset. We saw lots of animals and the ranger and tracker guides were very informative on animal habits and survival tactics. The whole time we felt very pampered. Each day was so unique and wonderful that we were sorry to leave Narina, Tinga. Definitely would recommend this place to our friends and family as well as visiting again.
5 out of 5
by Pablo from Honduras

Would love to come back!

Posted Apr 19, 2013
Tinga was incredible. I haven't seen much of kruger but I have been too other safaris around south africa and kenya, and I would definitely say Tinga is amazing. Its worth taking a look at it. We really enjoyed our beautiful rooms, and the whole service from the hotel was amazing.. Everynight we had dinner at different spots through out the hotel, which made it really unique from other luxury hotels. Our guide (Dave) and our tracker were definitely one of the best ones you could have. We saw many animals, and apart from that we had many many laughs, and great memories which we will never forget, or stop sharing. They made it stand out!! Plus the views from the Sabi River are un believable.