Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Excellent stay, wonderful safari!

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: It was right next to the Keuger gate so it took not even two minutes for the safari to begin. We loved sipping cocktails at sunset looking at the park
Cons: Nothing
Location: Right next to the Kruger gate made the safari wonderful. They prepared breakfast or lunch for you to eat while out on safari.
The rooms are spacious, modern, and kept clean. Shower is clean, hot water, nice water pressure. Staff was pleasant and always tried to be helpful ful and answer questions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

Wonderful hotel and location!

Posted Feb 16, 2016
I stayed for three nights, the great location enabled travel of almost the whole park. The breakfast, dinner, service and atmosphere were awesome!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Johannesburg

Excellent location

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Lovely surroundings. Walking distance to the Sabie River. Viewing deck offered sightings of elephants and hippos. Most staff were very friendly; some need a lot more training.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hyderabad, India

Family and Couples Friendly Hotel @ Gate Entrance

Posted Dec 20, 2015
Pros: Hotel location Ground transport coordination Helpful staff
Cons: Wifi in guest rooms
Location: Kruger Park is next door; Panarama canyons are within 30 minutes; Moholoholo and Cheetah Project animal rehab centers are within 90 minutes
This hotel may not be quite as fancy as the other resort option in the area but it has a delicious breakfast and dinner available and wonderful staff helping throughout the stay. It is locate within walking distance of the Kruger Gate entrance to Kruger Park (though obviously you would need to be coming in a vehicle in order to enter the park). For those who don't have their own vehicle, the hotel has a travel desk available to arrange day trips to the park and other surrounding attractions. If your trip starts early before the breakfast is served (before 6:30AM), the hotel provides a boxed breakfast you can take with you (just make sure baboons don't steal it like they did to us!) We stayed here for my wife's 30th birthday and have no regrets about this. They were not able to arrange a special cake or dinner, and the dinner service feels a bit like a cruise in that the staff will assign you a table and bring a few basics but otherwise you are on your own to attack the buffet. As of this writing (12/20/15) they had a marshmallow roasting pit which was clearly a hit with kids. Wifi is available in the main lobby area, the bar area, and near the swimming pool. It is does reach to all the guest rooms, but when you have a signal it is decently fast (5mbps) and stable.The rooms are decently sized with refrigerator, flat screen, and sliding door windows. The bathrooms are clean and modern but not luxurious. The main pros of this hotel are the location and the great staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bath, UK

Safari hotel situated just outside Kruger Gate

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Position and the airy safari architecture.
Cons: Possibly the pool could be a little cleaner.
Location: The whole of Kruger Park....what more do you need?!
A relaxed hotel with welcoming staff. Supper in the boma under the stars and overlooked by bush babies was memorable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mobile Alabama USA

Posted Nov 16, 2014
A wonderful experience! Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Eating lunch out on the deck watching the elephants come down to the water was thrilling! This hotel really exceeded our expectations. The trips and tours office went above and beyond to make all our tours a life time experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Very nice!

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: Great location on the banks of the Sabie, food was diverse and plentiful, rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff were the standout, forever helpful.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: We stayed here so we could have some comfort and enter and exit the Kruger when we liked. The kids enjoyed looking for elephants at night with torch.
Family holiday with kids and parents, wanting a bit of comfort when compared with the accommodation options at the Kruger Park rest camps. Great location, forever friendly staff and comforts of a good hotel. We loved the deck for sundowners, spotting elephants with our torches at night, the buffet was diverse and plentiful, and sitting next to the file with a glass of wine whilst being entertained to some wonderful African dancing and singing! The kids had a ball watching the bushbuck that lived on the hotel grounds and our elderly parents were just as happy watching. The swimming pool was great to cool off in after a dusty day in the Kruger park, where we managed to see the Big 5 on the first day including a leopard eating an impala. A rare and special holiday it will be difficult to forget.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Great location

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Location, surroundings
Cons: retrain the front desk and reataurant staff.
Location: Go spend every available daylight moment in Kruger NP
The closeness of the hotel to Kruger NP is a real plus sadly offset by the staff and the state of the external restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Woody from Myrtle Beach, SC USA

Big Game Hunt

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: Gorgeous facility. Incredible location.
Cons: Have room ready at check in time, especially when walk-ins were given the same room set up immediately.
Location: Booked a game drive thru hotel. All as promised, unfortunately game was scarce that day.
We spent New Years 2014 here. Nice accommodations. Wait staff on deck outside main restaurant wasn't as good as we have grown accustomed to in South Africa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elaine from Hampshire, UK

Friendly hotel very close to Kruger National Park

Posted Sep 6, 2013
Pros: The friendly and helpful staff, the clean and comfortable rooms and the outdoor seating and viewing areas and bar overlooking the river and KNP.
Cons: The quality of the food served in the evenings.
Location: Less than 5 minutes drive to Kruger National Park. Drakensberg Mountains, Mholoholo Wildlife Centre, Jane Goodall Chimp Institute make good days out.
We've stayed at the hotel several times during the last 7 years because it's within 5 minutes drive of Paul Kruger Gate (entrance to Kruger National Park) and therefore ideal if, like us, you love self driving in KNP and entering it when it opens at dawn, as that's the best time for viewing animals. The hotel is large and suited to couples, families and as a conference venue. The rooms are fairly spacious, very clean and have comfy beds and good sized bathrooms. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful and if you're going to miss breakfast because of an early start to the day they will make up a substantial brunch box fresh and ready for collection from 5.30 am. Breakfast in the hotel is fairly good too, with plenty of choices, but unfortunately evening meals are a let down. There's plenty of buffet style hot and cold food and lots of choice, so you won't go hungry. But the quality of the food is somewhat disappointing and some supposedly hot dishes are cold because they haven't been kept hot adequately. Meat and veg. are quite well prepared and cooked. The cold buffet style starters and desserts are hit and miss. Some are OK and some awful.