Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Quaint little place, not so small but cool town

Posted Jan 20, 2018
Pros: the rate of course
Cons: better heat in the room
Location: good eats close by, all the fast food places and a local diner with nice folks to chat with
Rooms a little cool for my taste, but it is 25 degrees outside. So just bring a sweater.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NH

Disappointed

Posted Oct 23, 2017
the cottage smelt very musty. the owners were never in office. the pool was closed and we were never told and charged full price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by Alex, Hotel Management
Thank you for rating our property. We're Sorry we were unable to meet your expectation .Pls know; Maine state is seasonal tourist place where after labor day it does consider is off season. If you would have gone through our business website you would know front desk office hours and amenities are seasonal.In the future ,Please specify what you are seeking and we will accept your reservation ,only if conditions are measuring your standards Management
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2017
Thank you so much for your valuable feedback regards Management
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2017
Thank you so much for your valuable feedback regards Management
2 out of 5
by Thomas

Disappointed

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
We were disappointed with the condition of the cottage we stayed in. It was dated and the bed was less than comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2017
we do value your feedback.In Future if you are considering staying at Exit5 please let us know of your previous experience.We will only accept your reservation if we think we are measuring up to your standards. Regards Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

BEWARE. DO NOT EVEN THINK ABOUT IT!

Posted Oct 15, 2017
We tried to contact the Motel from 3:30 in the afternoon until just before arriving at 7:30 p.m. They never answered the phone. Expedia tried contacting them for us also. They too could not contact the staff at the Motel. Upon arrival, the entire Motel had only 3 cars parked there. we soon found out why. The Motel was run down and dingy. The furniture was beat up, the bedding was old and outdated. I did not want to stay at all. however we did stay, but I remained in my street clothes throughout the night, and hi- tailed it out of there early. I called the phone numbered posted on the office. The staff member said he would be in the office at 8 a.m. However at 9 a.m. we gave up. This Motel has the potential to be a thriving, nice place to stay if the owners would spend time repainting, burning the old furniture and replacing it with new furniture, replacing all mattresses, adding new linens and bedspreads, and dumping the plastic flowers placed throughout the flower beds, and having someone who takes pride in their business and actually can be found in the office during the posted hours the office is open. SIDE NOTE: I should have examined the reviews better. Did you notice the dates of the reviews? A couple of recent dates and then the next ones were from 2015. What happened to other dates? The management replied back to each review with the same reply each time. Never really addressing each individual review concerns.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2017 by Alex, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing our property. Sorry for the unpleasant stay you had at Exit5.our suggestion if you would have gone through our business website you would know business hours and front desk service in off season. Off season we do make arrangements according to guest arrival if they inform us their estimate arrival time..in your case we received message from you on Expedia that your would check in around 8;30pm.Unfortunately we cant please everyone. In Future if you are considering staying at Exit5.We will only accept your reservation if we think we are measuring up to your standards. Regards Management
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2017
Thank you for reviewing our property. Regards Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Don't Stay Here

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Outside appearance is cute.
Cons: Housekeeping needs to be 100% better.
Location: Location is good. Only 2 miles to Old Orchard Beach.
Room was dirty. Says they have Wifi but they don't. Had to call and ask for clean towels and toilet paper. Asked to have them clean room as well. They did not.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by Alex, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing our business.we do always use our guests 'Suggestion " as opportunities for better improvement as well. Let me apologize you on behalf of housekeeping dept. for any inconvenience you had during your stay In Future if you are considering staying at Exit5 please let us know of your previous experience.We will only accept your reservation if we think we are measuring up to your standards. Regards Management
1 out of 5
by bob

Rip off

Posted Oct 9, 2017 on Hotels
Took my money and would not allow late check in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017
Thank you for reviewing our business Please know ; we have late check in policy and its clearly have mention in our website. If you would have informed us about your late check in. We would keep your room key in your unit. We only do charge cancellation fee the guest for no showed up and no inform us about their arrival. In Future if you are considering staying at Exit5 please let us know of your previous experience.We will only accept your reservation if we think we are measuring up to your standards. Regards Management
2 out of 5
by Faith

Posted Sep 19, 2017 on Hotels
I received a call at 8:20 pm saying that the office closed at 9 pm and I needed to get there by then or I couldn't check in. Never heard of this at a motel! Called back and no answer, 5-6 times. Finally went there, stressed out, had to call the emergency number and someone came out and let me check in. Crazy, annoying !! Then the room was pretty scuzzy, carpet stained and worn. I am not a clean freak by any means, but this was not nice. All in all, a completely annoying experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2017
Thank you for reviewing our property. We're Sorry we were unable to meet your expectation. .please know; The property manager didn't charge you late check in fee. Besides you were under impression that Expedia had already charged your stay when you had booked the room in Expedia and were arguing with staff about it also weren't ready to pay your stay while check in.In the future ,Please specify what you are seeking and your previous experience at Exit5 and we will accept your reservation ,only if we meet your standards. Management