Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NH

Disappointed

Posted Oct 23, 2017
the cottage smelt very musty. the owners were never in office. the pool was closed and we were never told and charged full price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by Alex, Hotel Management
Thank you for rating our property. We're Sorry we were unable to meet your expectation .Pls know; Maine state is seasonal tourist place where after labor day it does consider is off season. If you would have gone through our business website you would know front desk office hours and amenities are seasonal.In the future ,Please specify what you are seeking and we will accept your reservation ,only if conditions are measuring your standards Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

BEWARE. DO NOT EVEN THINK ABOUT IT!

Posted Oct 15, 2017
We tried to contact the Motel from 3:30 in the afternoon until just before arriving at 7:30 p.m. They never answered the phone. Expedia tried contacting them for us also. They too could not contact the staff at the Motel. Upon arrival, the entire Motel had only 3 cars parked there. we soon found out why. The Motel was run down and dingy. The furniture was beat up, the bedding was old and outdated. I did not want to stay at all. however we did stay, but I remained in my street clothes throughout the night, and hi- tailed it out of there early. I called the phone numbered posted on the office. The staff member said he would be in the office at 8 a.m. However at 9 a.m. we gave up. This Motel has the potential to be a thriving, nice place to stay if the owners would spend time repainting, burning the old furniture and replacing it with new furniture, replacing all mattresses, adding new linens and bedspreads, and dumping the plastic flowers placed throughout the flower beds, and having someone who takes pride in their business and actually can be found in the office during the posted hours the office is open. SIDE NOTE: I should have examined the reviews better. Did you notice the dates of the reviews? A couple of recent dates and then the next ones were from 2015. What happened to other dates? The management replied back to each review with the same reply each time. Never really addressing each individual review concerns.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2017 by Alex, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing our property. Sorry for the unpleasant stay you had at Exit5.our suggestion if you would have gone through our business website you would know business hours and front desk service in off season. Off season we do make arrangements according to guest arrival if they inform us their estimate arrival time..in your case we received message from you on Expedia that your would check in around 8;30pm.Unfortunately we cant please everyone. In Future if you are considering staying at Exit5.We will only accept your reservation if we think we are measuring up to your standards. Regards Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Don't Stay Here

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Outside appearance is cute.
Cons: Housekeeping needs to be 100% better.
Location: Location is good. Only 2 miles to Old Orchard Beach.
Room was dirty. Says they have Wifi but they don't. Had to call and ask for clean towels and toilet paper. Asked to have them clean room as well. They did not.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by Alex, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing our business.we do always use our guests 'Suggestion " as opportunities for better improvement as well. Let me apologize you on behalf of housekeeping dept. for any inconvenience you had during your stay In Future if you are considering staying at Exit5 please let us know of your previous experience.We will only accept your reservation if we think we are measuring up to your standards. Regards Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC

Very nice, good price

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The motel is not too far from the beach just off the 95 also Hannaford supermarket is at the next light. The owner and staff are very nice and helpful...It was our 2 Time and we Will come back next year!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Sonny, Hotel Management
We do really appreciate your kind review for our business..we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you next summer to Exit 5 Regards Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Very old and not like pictures.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Location: The location is great if you could find a better place to stay
When we checked into the cottage there were 3 air fresheners in the room and all you could smell was a strong floral smell. Not pleasant at all. We both ended up with allergy attacks during the night. You couldn't open any of the windows. Most were either painted shut or the screens were falling out. There was a full kitchen but no pans to cook with so the food we bought we took back home. There was a huge bathroom but no decorations or anything. I was a very drab looking room. The bedroom had two queen beds and a dresser nothing else. No clock, no lamp on the end tables (there was a ceiling light) nothing. It just wasn't a pleasant cottage at all. We stayed here years ago, I'm guessing with different owners and these cottages were beautiful. They have really let them go........
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Alex, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing our property. Please know; the cottage you had reserved was renovated just before season started. Having said that with paint, new carpet we had to use odor eliminator for carpet also working on touch ups of our room.it is unfortunate that you didn't bring the your smell sensitivity problem to our attention while made reservation or checked in.We wouldn't have accept your reservation.it is clearly mention on our website that we provide basic utensil on front desk. Please know This is the same management company from last 11 years. If you are considering staying at Exit5 in the future, please let us know of your previous experience. We will only accept your reservation if we think we are measuring up to your standards regards Mangement
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Quiet and Quaint

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Clean Room with kichenette. Clean pool. Sunny was exceptionally nice. We viewed the Anniversary Suite, that was clean and beautiful as well. We stayed 2 nights with no complaints!!! Location was awesome close to highway, breakfast and dinner places and amusement park a mile away, Old Orchard Beach just a mike or so away as well
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Sunny, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing our business.we do always use our guests 'Suggestion " as opportunities for better improvement as well.We are glad you enjoyed your stay.We are looking forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Exit5 Regards, Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from upper stewiacke nova scotia

Old and needing work

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Room needs a lot of updating and tlc, air conditioner worked well but needed to stand on a chair to operate
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by Alex, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing our property. We're Sorry that your stay wasn't pleasant one..In the future ,Please specify what you are seeking and your previous experience at Exit5 and we will accept your reservation ,only if we meet your standards. Management
2 out of 5
by Scott

OK for what we needed

Posted Aug 19, 2017 on Hotels
On first entry, the room had an odor of stale cigarette smoke. Our bathroom window looked out on the outdoor pool area of the motel next door. Unfortunately our bathroom window didn't have any covering so we had to hang a towel to have at least a little privacy. The kitchenette was nice and the fridge kept things very cold. Our primary reason for staying was the proximity to the beach. Overall, the room was outdated and worn. We would likely stay elsewhere next time unless there was a major renovation/update to the facility.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017
Thank you for reviewing our property. We're Sorry we were unable to meet your expectation. In the future ,Please specify what you are seeking and share with us your last experience at exit5 we will accept your reservation ,only if we meet your standards. Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth staying at.

Posted Aug 19, 2017 on Hotels
We never stayed there after seeing the condition of the room. I would never suggest it to anyone. Plus the owners are giving us a hard time about refunding our money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017
Thank you for reviewing our property. We're Sorry that your stay wasn't pleasant one..In the future ,Please specify what you are seeking and your previous experience at Exit5 and we will accept your reservation ,only if we meet your standards. Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mass

Nice quite location with gooamenaties for the kids

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Stayed there for 2 nights in the two bedroom cottage. Everyone was happy and comftable in there own rooms. Kids loved the amenities. I wish the game room will close at 11pm instead of 930pm. Overall it was great stay there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Sunny, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and we are appreciate your valuable feedback.We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.We are looking forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Exit5. Regards, Management