Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay. Old historical feel

Posted Mar 13, 2017
We Loved It!! Rooms vary. If you plan on staying around & relaxing, get the bigger room otherwise go with the smaller room. All the rooms have the warm historic feel to it. Breakfast is perfect. Close to EVERYTHING
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Merced, CA

Perfect getaway stay!

Posted Feb 22, 2017
We are a 25 year old couple with a 10 month old baby in need of alone time. We stayed at the Amber House in search of relaxation and alone time. The staff at the Amber House were beyond helpful and kind; the rooms were very clean and an older style atmosphere which was pleasing. Our overall stay was excellent and I will definitely be coming back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by ~Amber House Inn of Midtown & Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the kind review! It was our pleasure to host you and we look forward to your return :)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Convenience to downtown.
Cons: Fix the plumbing....
Location: Close to downtown, Museums, Old town and dinning.
I booked this for my birthday through Expedia, the room category that I booked had a Jacuzzi tub and looked somewhat spacious. The room I was given was their cheapest room, no Jacuzzi, small and cramped. The Inns web page lists the price range for the room and I was charged more for the room than the listed high rate. The room was clean, but taking a shower was another experience. Whomever did their plumbing did a horrible job. The shower handle mixer has no real in-between scalding hot or ice cold. I have traveled a lot and neither my husband or myself were impressed with this B&B.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by Dan Wickstrom, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Amber House. Double checked your reservation, you booked a Queen room, not a Deluxe Queen which does include a 2 person Jacuzzi tub...Sorry for the confusion. Queen rooms come with deep claw foot Jacuzzi Tubs. Being you did not include your name I cannot double check plumbing, but we have had not complaint about extreme cold or hot water.
5 out of 5
by Nancy

Great Service and Breakfast, Comfortable Room

Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
This was the second time we've stayed at Amber House. The staff is friendly, and the service impeccable. This time we stayed in the Beethoven room, which was spacious and comfortable. There was free parking off the alley. The breakfasts were delicious. I ran the California International Marathon, the start and finish of which were within walking distance. There were also some good restaurants nearby. Will definitely stay there again next year.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Romantic and Cozy Bed & Breakfast

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
My husband and I stayed here for one night to celebrate his birthday. This was our second stay at Amber House and this time we stayed in the Chaucer room which is in the main house. We really had a wonderful and relaxing time. We enjoyed a bottle of wine out on the communal patio. Our room was comfortable and cozy. There are several restaurants within walking distance. We love getting the early morning beverage service. Breakfast came to our room on time and was delicious. We will definitely be back!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was fantastic the staff and facility were awesome, we sat on the front porch and enjoyed a glass of wine one of the evenings and breakfast both mornings of our stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect!

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
Extremely quaint and lovely bed-and-breakfast. Everything was perfect!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming old house

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
This was a business trip. My room was just too small, and I am a small person. There was no place to relax other than to be in bed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A part of historic Sacramento

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed in the house across the street from the "main" house--I think I was the only resident there! It was quiet and quaint