Ratings based on 365 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mountain View, CA

Renovation in progress and we got a bad room

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was better than in other Best Western locations.
Cons: Modernize the rooms.
Location: It's close to Old Town and the Capitol.
We got a room close to the lobby and breakfast area where renovations are in progress -- probably for a few more weeks (09/13/2017). Next to the hotel is an abandoned lot; except for the huge post of a billboard right in front of our window. Inside the room there was a crack in the wall and the light switches for the bathroom and wash area are flipped. The highway is close, so expect some noise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I regret discovering that you weren't thoroughly impressed with your recent stay with us here at Best Western Sandman. Your feedback is reported to our management, this is addressed accordingly. I apologize for the discomfort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Good budget stay

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Price and location.
Cons: They're renovating now.
Location: It's a mile down the bike path to Old Town, so, close to city center and Raley Field.
This place has been going through a renovation this summer, but the rooms and staff are great and it's a quick walk to Old Town, the ballpark and Amtrak. There's a pool and cool Mexican restaurant right there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and share your experience. We can't thank you enough for sharing the ways that we were able to impress you. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area! Kind regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2017
we had a pleasant stay. The staff was great. I called in the morning to see if we could check in early because my son had just been discharged from surgery & we had nowhere to take him. The lady at the front desk was so helpful & got us into a room immediately. The beds are very comfortable. I liked having a private patio in the back. The breakfast that was included was decent & enough to fill our bellies. The carpet & shower were a little aged but overall everything was fine. we will be staying again when in Sac.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate the time you've taken to give us your thoughtful review. We are glad that you enjoyed the value and the convenient location of our hotel!We are all looking forward to your next visit, and we will make sure it will be just as enjoyable.
4 out of 5
by Jose

Pet-friendly room close call

Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Hotels
Remodeling construction was on going, Still staff was friendly and accommodating, even when we had to deal with a pet-friendly room that we did not request. We were unsure of pet remains in the room, but it was clean enough to not noticing it. Mistake by Hotels.com for not telling pet-friendly was a request feature in their booking process.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017
Thank you so much for leaving a review on Hotels.com. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry you got a pet friendly room. We keep all our rooms clean so it is hard to notice.I hope to see you back at the Best Western Sandman in the near future and you will see the upgraded lobby and we will be starting the renovating the rooms early November. Best Regards, Michael Brown General Manager
3 out of 5
by Sandra

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 27, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by phil

No pets please

Posted Aug 26, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel itself was good. Room super clean! Fridge cold. Only issue was the room next to us had a dog that whined and scratched at the door literally ALL NIGHT LONG! I Do not blame this on the hotel. It just tells me to never stay at a pet friendly hotel again. Hotel good for the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time and leaving us a review on Hotels.com. I am sorry about you being close to a pet room. We are very sorry as that is normally a quite area. I hope you will be staying with us again and we will not put you close to the pet area. Best Regards, Michael Brown General Manager
2 out of 5
by Vaff

yikes

Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
it was a scary neighborhood. loud at night. cockroaches, and the check in was friendly, but I was seriously afraid of bed bugs. there was no shampoo. other than that I guess it was ok
4 out of 5
by Jake

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 2, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Somewhat Unpleasant Surprise

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
It would have been nice to have been told in advance about the reconstruction in progress. I believe they are doing the best that they can, due to the construction constriction. My Handicapped needs were able to be met.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Orbitz
The reception clerk when we checked out was not pleasant. It seems like she was really bored with her job. Not once did she smile nor looked at me. The food attendant was very nice but they were missing food items such as yogurt, bacon and plain scrambled eggs. The bed is very comfy but the sofa bed was dusty when we pulled it out. The air conditioner is old and can not handle the hot weather outside. It took awhile to cool down the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2017 by Mike, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for leaving a review on Expedia. I want to thank you for the kind words you left for the food attendant. I am very sorry that the front desk was not friendly. I am sorry there was food missing, as we carry the bacon, yogurt and the eggs. We just replaced air conditioner filters, and that seems to be working great to cool down the room. I hope you would be willing to give us another chance to show you this was a bad stay. Sincerely, Michael Brown General Manager