Ratings based on 1,700 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quaint hotel

Posted May 19, 2017
Very nice hotel for a romantic getaway. Due to small room sizes, I would not recommend taking children to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Petaluma, CA

Great location on the river in Old Town Sacramento

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Unique riverboat hotel
Cons: Make the floor of the shower less slippery.
Location: Be sure to visit Sutter's Fort where gold was discovered in California. Also, I enjoyed the state capitol building for the architecture.
Very nice accommodations. Close to the shops and Old Town activities. Very pleasant staff in the hotel and restaurant. Also, good food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: the location and staff.
We took the train from Truckee, walked to the hotel. Took in a Rivercats game. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germantown TN

Very good location for visiting old town Sacrament

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Great loacation and good breakfast came with room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice

Posted Apr 24, 2017
All was good except hot water was not hot. So shower was a quick one.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not worth the money.

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: location on the river
Cons: beds, beds, beds and size of rooms
For what you pay the room is so small, yes it is on a boat but the "deluxe river view" was very tiny. The bed had to be the original bed that came on the ship when it was built because it was so uncomfortable we couldn't sleep. The staff was friendly, especially our cabin maid, Karen, who was so nice and helpful. Other than that though, not worth the price you pay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun experience

Posted Mar 12, 2017
We stayed 15+ years ago and it hasn't changed. The rooms are small but you go because it's on a boat. Staff is very friendly. It's quiet. It's super close to old town. I probably wouldn't stay a week here but it's different for a night or two.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

Not for Seniors

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Room very small on upper floor. No elevator, Staff will help with luggage if requested but still a lot of stairs for Seniors. Bath/toilet area has claw foot tub but rickety plumbing and no safety measures available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle Metro Area

Fun on a Historic Riverboat

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Ambience, history, friendliness of staff, location, restaurants. And how often do you get to stay on a real live riverboat???
Cons: Cleanliness.
Location: Old Sacramento, shopping, restaurants, Sacramento River Walk, Steam Train Museum, carriage rides
The Delta King is a twin to the even-more-famous Delta Queen, which travels the Mississippi river. The riverboat was fully restored as a hotel in the late 1980s, and is permanently docked in Old Town, Sacramento. For the sheer history and adventure of it, you can't beat staying in a vintage riverboat stateroom! However, the owners have not been very vigilant about ongoing cleanliness and maintenance. The bathrooms were very cool (pull-chain toilet, original brass shower fixtures) -- but dirty. (You could take a damp towel, slide it over the tiles, mirror, or light switch plates, and come away with dirt and scum. Long-dead gnats peppered the ceiling. And there was very poor ventilation (the windows are caulked closed.) And on the exterior, you could see where some wood trim needed repair. Of course, the stateroom is small. (We expected that -- it's a riverboat, after all!) Expect to be cozy! The bar & grill, as well as the Pilot House Restaurant, were outstanding. On weekends, there is live music (great piano player) in the bar. And you can sit outside on the deck, watch the sunset, and sip mai tais while listening to the piano oldies. Don't miss the food in the Pilot House Restaurant. I had the salmon, and my better-half had the cider-brined pork. Both were outrageously yummy! And, best of all, you are right in the heart of Old Town Sacramento. Not too shabby!
4 out of 5
by sofia from sacamento

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
great