Ratings based on 260 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Delhi , India

Perfect stay & location!

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Cons: Interiors & Furniture
The hotel is in the heart of the city .The location is excellent, in the downtown of Davis, within walking distance of all the shops ,restaurants and university. The room is spacious but having old furniture. Impressive amenities all around whether in the room or outside. Breakfast spread is fine. Value for money is truly exceptional. The staff is too courteous.Overall a amazing experience. Cheers! :)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice to stay in between UC Davis & the downtown

Posted Sep 2, 2016
It was first time to me in Davis and U.S., and I reached the hotel at 1:15 a m from Sacramento airport, to find a great surprise...the reception disk is closed after 11 p m, with an announcement on the front door to go to Best Western University Lodge hotel for check in after 11 p m, with unclear sketch for the location of the other hotel...The difficult thing for me to find out the location of the other hotel, while I have no experience or map for Davis streets... After a while of searching and a help from a kind clean-worker man in one of the buildings in D street, I could found the Best Western University Lodge hotel to check in and get my keys.....So, It will be great if the Econo Lodge hotel mentioned her the announcement of the working time of the reception disk (instead of the information of :24-hour front desk) , and adding clear information and map for the chick in for the lat costumers Overall, It was a good experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from southern CA

Great location, but room not so great

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: It's a small hotel therefore the noise of other guests is very minimal.
Cons: Improve the bathroom, A/C unit and the continental breakfast items.
Location: I love that it's conveniently located in downtown Davis where I can walk to any restaurant, coffee place and shops. It makes it for an easy walk back.
To find belongings from a prior guest upon walking into our room was unexpected. We first though that they assigned us a wrong room but that wasn't the case. It appears that the prior visitor purposefully left some stuff behind to donate but the cleaning crew didn't bother to remove the stuff. Then there's the bathroom that had a fan that would shut off automatically at intervals even when the switch was still turned on. Go figure. The other thing was the shower curtain which is held by a curved shower curtain rod/holder. Whoever installed that rod didn't have the slightest clue because apparently they screwed it too far in and the shower curtain slides down to the middle so there is not way to keep your shower curtain closed from one end to another. This left big openings at each end. Not a big deal but it is when you're constantly trying to close the curtain to keep the water from going out. Then there's the A/C unit that is loud. I'm a light sleeper so I had to turn it off at times to get some rest. I would book this hotel again only if there is nothing else available.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fresno ca

cheap compared to the other. ok for one night.

Posted Jul 12, 2016
paid 85$ for one night and didn't expect much and so wasn't surprised. hotel is ok for one night.
4 out of 5
by Jennifer from Huntington Beach

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
The Econo Lodge in Davis is in a great location! It's in Downtown Davis. It's clean and the staff are very nice and personable.
4 out of 5
by KOH from San Francisco

We will be back soon!

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed this hotel for a week when I took a week-length workshop at UCD. It is vert conveniently located (a few minutes' walk from the UCD campus), there are many nice cafes and restaurants nearby (within a few blocks). Also, a Whole Foods Market is in the same area (~5 minutes on foot). Davis is a very pleasant college town. It could be very active (and noisy?) during academic semesters, but we stayed just after the graduation and it was relatively quiet. It is also extremely safe as well. We liked the town and the hotel very much, and will stay at the same hotel for the next visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Each room has a microwave-oven and refrigerator. There is a whole foods market, Peet-coffee, and Japanese restaurants nearby. I think it locates at very convenient place.
4 out of 5
by Sonia.Pyun from 경기

기대이상

Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
제가 숙박하는날 수의학 컨퍼런스가 5개가 한꺼번에 있어 데이비스에 있는 호텔은 풀로 찼습니다. 마지막 남은 이 호텔 방을 예약하니 바로 매진이 떴습니다. 방도 마지막이었었지요. 가격도 좀 저렴한 편이고 평도 썩 좋지는 않아서 걱정이 좀 앞섰지만 생각과는 달리 좋은 위치에 방도 깨끗하고 직원들도 친절해서 편안하게 지냈습니다. 단 일찍 나와야해서 조식은 패스했네요.
4 out of 5
by Elcee

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Accommodations

Posted Mar 14, 2016 on Hotels
The room was sufficient but the gap under the door was about a half inch. Had to put a towel under the door to stop the air from coming in. Parking is a challenge with not enough parking places to accommodate the customers. Breakfast was sufficient and nicely displayed. Coffeemaker in the room did not work. There is a lot of noise from the trains in the area throughout the night.