Ratings based on 1,286 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Exceptional hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: Everything, but especially the friendly staff and the services they provided.
Cons: None.
Location: Located in downtown Sacramento adjacent to Old Sacramento and history museums.
Two day stay adjacent to Old Sacramento. This is a great hotel with an exceptional staff, service, and amenities. The included breakfast is excellent,and there is an evening happy hour with snacks and free drinks. Very good location for business meetings or personal family gatherings. The staff provides complete service from arrival to departure. The hotel is very clean and is in a quiet city location. We felt it was an exceptional hotel well worth the cost.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chattanooga

Perfect location

Posted Oct 10, 2017
In town for a wedding and first time in Sacramento. With only two days there location afforded us many walking opportunities along river walk as well as old Town section and several restaurants. Full included breakfast at hotel was a plus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Savramento, Ca.

Walking distance to Old Town Sacramento, Ca

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Enjoyed are stay. Close too restaurants and shopping
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, MB

Nice hotel by the river

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Spacious and well-appointed suites. Location close to the Riverfront Promenade and boardwalk.
Cons: Room cleaning needs to be improved
Location: Riverfront Promenade and boardwalk has lots of little shops, and cafes and restaurants. And a steam train!
Arrived in Sacramento for a wedding and my wife and I opted to stay at a different hotel than the rest of the wedding party and guests (the Citizen). It was a mixed blessing as the Embassy Suites Riverfront Promenade hotel was far more spacious than the other property, had a decent fitness studio and a small indoor pool. Breakfast was included and so we were extremely happy with the bang for the buck. We also want to highlight the excellent staff which made an impression on us. Everyone from the valet parking folks to the front desk to the wait staff all were polite and positive and extremely helpful. Kudos. What we were disappointed in was the service in the room; after a couple of days we asked for the room to be cleaned and it was given a cursory once over with no regard for actual cleaning. This certainly did not warrant the $5 tip for housecleaning we left. Used glasses from the lounge were uncollected, crumbs in the bed indicated that the sheets were not changed but the bed just made, the ironing board and iron were left out and not put away. This was the only disappointment during our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2017
My stay exceeded my expectations. The hotel was very clean and quiet. Helpful staff and breakfast was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dc area

Overall excellent but a caveat

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Surprisingly, there was a notice in the room that if there was a do not disturb sign on the door when housekeeping came by, the suite would not be cleaned that day, and that sheets would only be changed every three days. since we only stayed one night, this did not affect us this time, but for the price, I would expect better in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Commerce, MI

Great location to sightseeing and shops!

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Hotel staff professional and very attentive! Vakue for your money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boise, Idaho

Great Location, Unfortunately Very High Traffic

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: The convenience to the riverwalk promenade and Old Town Sacramento
Cons: When they are going to have a big event with a Jazz band that is playing right outside your window until 11:00 at night, some warning, if possible
I have always loved this hotel in the past, but my lasted experience was not that pleasant. This hotel is located very conveniently to Old Town Sacramento and is right on the river with a beautiful riverwalk availability. Unfortunately the location makes it extremely popular, which has allowed the hotel to increase their cost to its customers, but not their customer service. The buffet breakfast in the morning is extremely popular with guests, as it come with the room charge, but it is packed each morning, and seating gets spread out by the attendees to anywhere they can find a seat, in the lobby, at the bar, outside, wherever! The tables are not bussed fast enough to accommodate the number of people attending. Their is always a large group having their lunch buffet in the lobby and the noise level becomes increasing loud as they enjoy the atmosphere and being let out of their meeting!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from corning ca

Birthday celebration

Posted Sep 24, 2017
This hotel is gorgeous! Complimentary drinks when we arrived. Our room overlooked the river and draw bridge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mill Creek, WA

Nice hotel along the Sacramento River

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Stayed here as the first stop on a road trip to Washington. Wonderful staff very pleasant and professional. Had dinner in the Bistro excellent waitstaff with an outstanding menu!!