Ratings based on 442 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2017
Hotel needs to be upgraded Big time.... Even the sheets in the room were stained.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We're truly sorry your room was not in the spotless condition. Please be rest assured that your comments have been shared with the housekeeping team in an effort to improve the cleanliness of your room. We will also share your feedback with appropriate individuals in our organization as we begin formulating plans for future renovations. We hope you'll make plans to stay with us again. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2017
Unfortunately my hotel room had a bad smell, as if fish had been left out for a few days. And there where toe nail clippings on the floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience you had with the cleanliness of your room. I have already shared your concern with my housekeeping team and will ensure this is never repeated. Thanks again for being our guest, and we hope you will visit us again for a much better experience. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2017
Not much of a Breakfast bar. Lot of Hwy noise room was a little bit small and hotel had a strong cigarette smell
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry to know we were not able to meet your expectations and that you had a disappointing stay with us. Your feedback is important to us as it will help us improve our service and facilities. We value your business and hope you will consider us again. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Quebec

Hotel looks great from the parking lot, but.......

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: The front desk area, the rooms, the breakfast offering and the fire alarms.
Location: The location is near shops abd restaurants, but quite a few homeless people in the eve
Not really a good experience. Fire alarms going off often. The toilet exploded sewage in my bathroom. There were no items for preparing meals in the room. I have stayed at other Extended Stay America and this was the worst ever! The breakfast cabinet was pathetic.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Please accept my apology for the issues you encountered during your visit which led to a disappointing stay. This is certainly not acceptable, and we are taking appropriate measures to prevent anything like this from happening again. I would also like to inform you that, our brand require us to keep the kitchenette at the front desk rather than leaving them in the suites. We are sorry if we didn’t communicate this to you during check-in. We regret the inconvenience caused and hope we have a future opportunity to restore your confidence in us. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lake Tahoe

Very loud, right to the freeway.

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Very little.
Cons: Bad location.
I would not stay there again. Difficult to sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
John, thank you for providing your feedback. Our goal is to provide a comfortable suite so you can get a good night's rest, so we apologize your rest was disturbed due to noise from the highway. While this noise was outside the hotel and uncontrollable by our team, we do understand your frustration. We hope to have you back as our guest, so we can reserve a suite for you which does not face the highway. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, Fl

BEWARE! PICK ANOTHER PLACE

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: NOTHING!
Cons: Everything!
Location: Location was great
Maid staff REFUSED to give us clean towels the next morning because she said she would, "Run out of towels" if she did. Drug paraphanalia found in room! Druggies put duct tape over fire alarm so they could smoke in room. Homeless people hanging out in side entrance so we had to walk in the pouring rain half way around the building to get in a different door. Rooms are outdated! Fridge didn't even have a handle on the door. Pillows were terrible and tiny! I WILL NEVER EVER STAY HERE AGAIN!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by general manager, Hotel Management
Lorie, Although you found our location convenient, it seems we missed the mark on providing you with the high-quality comfort, cleanliness, and service we strive to provide. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we will use it to better our hotel for future guests. It is our hope you will consider another stay in the future so we may provide you with the stay you deserve. Thank you for your review. General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the money.

Posted Apr 6, 2017
For the money, not worth the stay, unfriendly staff, you have to pay extra to get room clean. Tv reception was horrible. Slim picking for breakfast and was not ready on time. The only good thing was location, variety of shopping options.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for evaluating your stay. Although you liked our location, please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you encountered which led to a disappointing visit. Your concerns will be shared with the entire team in an effort to improve our service and facilities. We truly regret the inconvenience you had, and please give us another chance to serve you with the hospitality you deserve. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from California

Good value for the price

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Price, location.
Cons: Continental breakfast was a little spartan. Adding some fruit would be nice
Overal good value for the price. Room was very functional and property located in convenient area to many Roseville and Rocklin attractions/destinations. The only negative was that there was a fair amount of noise from unit above me. Units now have some laminate flooring, which can be noisy when people above walk heavy. Also, the folks above me decided to take a shower at 3 am, which was loud enough where it sounded like they were using my shower. I'll remember to bring ear plugs next time!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review regarding your stay at our hotel. We are happy to know you liked our convenient location and the great value we offer. However, I am sorry you were not able to experience a quiet and relaxing stay. Our front desk staff is trained to have appropriate conversations with our guests to resolve such issues or move you to another suite when informed. We are sorry you had an uncomfortable night and regret the inconvenience caused. We hope you will give us a chance to serve you better in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roseville Ca.

Are you kidding me !

Posted Apr 1, 2017
To start made a reservation for a king room got a queen room because they were sold out! Very questionable staff Only one person on duty to do it all and could use a shower. Room had one towel and no amenities. Room was very dated and worn out. Stair well smelled of urine and spilled coffee for days. Run away!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Chad, thank you for your candid evaluation. We are terribly sorry about the issues you experienced with your reservation and also for the room not having the amenities you desired or needed. Our brand standards, require us to make the kitchenware & toiletries available at the front desk rather than leaving them in the suites, and our team gladly delivers them to your suite. We will remind our front desk to communicate this more clearly at the time of check-in. I hope you will return so we can make it up to you. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It did not have Spanish channels

Posted Mar 30, 2017
It have a buger on the bathroom wall, and it had the Spanish channel blocked, overall it was a good hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback about Extended Stay America - Sacramento - Roseville, and we are glad you enjoyed your overall time with us. We also appreciate your observations and have taken a note of it. It was our pleasure hosting you, and we hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, General Manager