Ratings based on 259 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Our visit

Posted Nov 30, 2016
We had cackroach in our room. Definitely we are not coming back to this hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Dirty, room was not clean. TV was very small & did not work well. Bathroom was dirty. Floors had stains all over them.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 16, 2016
The hotel was really nice. I didn't like the fact I had to kill a roach but it was only one and every else was fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad to see you were well accommodated at our hotel, and in regards to your issue, we have contacted our contractor to treat your room. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from W Lafayette, IN

Worst check in EVER

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: I did not actually stay at this hotel, the check in fiasco forced me to book another hotel.
Cons: Professional staff !!!
My review is about the witch at check in . We got there and was told I booked a room with a king size bed, I was pretty sure I booked a room with 2 so I asked if we can be put in a 2 bed as we have 2 children, I am told no, we are over booked. I then asked for a roll away bed, told me she can`t provide that either, but there is a chair in the room and my daughter could sleep on that ( at this point I was already starting to get annoyed) . For an extra fee she would be willing to move me to a 2 bed room. Wait, I thought u were overbooked ?! I tell her I am not willing to pay an extra fee as I am pretty sure I booked a 2 bed, she says call Expedia. I call Expedia, their system is down, but advised me to talk to a supervisor, let me check in into a king and once their system is back up they will call and move us into a 2 bed. So back I go ( after waiting on the phone for a bit and trying to figure it out, I`d say 15 mins), I pass on the advice from Expedia costumer service, I am told she is NOT willing to do that because that will require for the room to be cleaned after us. The discussion between us continued for a few more minutes, I tried very hard to keep it chill, but once she says: you should just book another hotel ( after I told her we were in a rush and my husband needed to get ready for work) , I snapped ! Called her a few names and walked out .I am not an idiot, we travel a lot, its a huge hotel and the parking lot was pretty empty. 4 star hotels never did that to us
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Convenient Location...was about it.

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Location and Price
Cons: Breakfast and cleanliness
Location: Mather, baseball. We were there for a conference.
When we checked in the room we were given was smoked in. Still had cleanser in the toilet, obviously not scrubbed. At least they switched rooms for us. "Free Breakfast" was instant oatmeal, granola bars, and coffee. Wasn't advertised as that skimpy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: no questions on location because it is accessible to restaurants,gas station and free way.
When we open the door the stinky odor welcome us.It's so disgusting after i kicked a chicken bone sitting in a carpet.Carpet as well is darn filthy and lot of stains.Even the beddings is terrible because it seems like being used by a customer who checked out before we in because of the foul odor of the beddings.You don't even see a housekeeping roaming around to ask for a new one..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aptos,CA

Front desk accommodating and friendly.

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Close to Freeway and has everything I am looking for in a short term motel.
Cons: Book early because it does fill up. Some of the rooms appear to be occupied by weekly or monthly guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. I am glad to see you were well accommodated by our staff and enjoyed our location near the freeway. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Very dirty and smelly!! No room service unless you stayed at least a week. Overall it was a horrible place to stay. Definitely would not recommend this place to anyone.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay for the price point,could be more comfortable

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Shower
Cons: Didn't have a hair blower in the room. Firm BED.(fluffy mattress pad would really help!)
Location: safe surroundings. easy walk to mcdonalds and a mex place. Easy access to freeway too.
Location is ideal, safe surroundings with close by eateries. The room itself is fine, overall clean and somewhat remodeled. The bed though was too firm and not very comfortable. I had a restless night. The TV (flat screen but not new) was too bright, not clear and kind of weird; which altered my viewing pleasure. The worst was their idea of a simple breakfast which consistent of coffee, oatmeal packages and a couple of stale looking breakfast bars. I passed on that! The lady at the desk was pleasant but somewhat with a abrupt, told me my receipt would be emailed via Priceline/Expedia but to date I haven't received it. Would I come back? I probably wouldn't stay again but maybe that's just me!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My third stay (at same time of year)

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: Location was convenient
The staff was quite helpful. I do think more assistance should be provided for stocking the kitchen etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and for choosing to stay with us for the third time. Your positive comments about our staff and location are much appreciated. We have also taken note about the assistance with the cookware for the fully equipped kitchen. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!