Ratings based on 1,800 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern California

We had a vertical noisy room.

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Highway 5 is just a block away and our room was looking at it . This place needs an extreme makeover.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good choice for Sacramento flights/meetings

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: The check-in was easy, facilities clean, beds comfortable.
Cons: A grab bar or two in the shower and near the toilet would be appreciated.
Location: It appears to be close enough to easily get to business or tourist destinations in the downtown / old Sacramento area.
We used the hotel to bookend our flights to/from Hawaii with our daughters. The proximity to the airport was important, and this met our criteria.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable and pleasent, great breakfast and staff

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Overall this is a great place. One or two things could be improved but for the price and location this is a great deal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chino, Ca

close to old town

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Hotel is very clean. Rooms can use some minor fixes. Overall the room and hotel was pretty good. Only thing I would like different is the breakfast. They need to add some breakfast meat and some eggs. Nothing but carbs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno,NV

Close to old town and the river

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Outside the building looks a bit run down but the inside is nice and clean. Staff was friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA ST

Close to Old Town Sacramento and shuttle to airpo

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Comfortable bed.
Cons: Extra blanket
Very clean large room, comfortable furniture, shuttle to airport on time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Lowest quality possible, on all levels

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Nothing useful in the area, unless you like eating at Denny's or McDonald's. Many homeless folks around, to give you a sense for the surroundings.
Awful experience. Staff is clueless, very unhelpful. Could not get on their Internet, despite their repeated attempts to "help." The room was disgusting. Smelly sheets and pillows. Breakfast shouldn't be called that. Couldn't wait to get out of that dump.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and convenient to downtown

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Rooms are nicely appointed and the hotel is very clean. Breakfast is very nice with a lot of selections.
Cons: Access to food, other than McDonalds, is limited. Room Service is very expensive with a high minimum. My last stay was marred by having no Wi-Fi.
Location: It is downtown and is located in a shabby area except for the close neighborhood. But being close to downtown there is any number of things to do.
Govenors Hotel is a nice place and very close to downtown Sacramento, I-5, and my friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germany

Excellent

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Very nice breakfast room, however, the food is heavy on carbs (great selection though). More protein choices would be great!
This is a wonderful hotel at an excellent price. Super clean, friendly, free parking (!), free Internet (!), very spacious and right downtown, in walking distance of everything downtown Sacramento! Thanks to Heiner for excellent customer service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Very Nice Hotel and fulfilled my needs.

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: The hotel was quiet and clean. Just what I needed.
Cons: Perhaps more meat for breakfast.
Location: Location was off the beaten path, but I liked that.
Only stayed overnight, but everything was excellent and met my expectations.