Ratings based on 384 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2017
This hotel is in a convenient location in downtown Davis. It has underground parking, a complementary cocktail hour, and a $7 voucher per person for breakfast in a cafe attached to hotel. The room we stayed in was large, but the carpeting was old and stained, the window air conditioning unit ineffective and the shower inadequate. The worst part by far was the bed and pillows. I wouldn't have thought that could make such a big difference, but neither of us slept well at all. I would say if the hotel invested in some upgrades it could be a really nice place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Off the I-5 path but very worthwhile

Posted Feb 9, 2017
College town, pedestrian friendly, several good restaurants
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great small hotel in downtown Davis.

Posted Dec 28, 2016
The Hallmark Inn is a small hotel in downtown Davis. It has a nice little bar, attached restaurant, parking and the staff are very helpful. We have stayed here in the past and enjoyed it and will do so again. The trains going by are a bit noisy, but they try to mitigate the effect by providing ear plugs!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri and Washington

Lovely Local Visit at the Hallmark Inn UC Davie

Posted Dec 19, 2016
The Hallmark Inn UC Davis is conveniently located right in the middle of the small community of downtown Davis. The lobby was tastefully decorated with beautiful local artwork displayed and for sale. The staff was gracious and very welcoming, offering assistance for our needs. We observed the cleaning staff at work in open rooms and saw them vacuuming, mopping the bathroom floors, airing out the rooms and even standing on ladders cleaning the bathroom lights over the mirrors. We stayed four days. They provide a separate bar and nice sitting area from 5-7 PM with your first drink free. The breakfast was offered in a very nice separate eating cafe and provide you with a $8.50 breakfast ticket to eat there. The also provided free parking. This was our second visit at the Hallmark Inn because we liked it so much the first time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Walking Around Davis

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
This was a cute cozy inn, decorated for holidays. Location was ideal for walking throughout Davis for Art Walk. Room was comfortable! Breakfast vouchers given for cafe.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing location and friendly staff

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
The location of the hotel is amazing and allows one to walk or bike to numerous venues. The UC Davis campus is so close and contributes to the hotel's "cool" factor. The hotel is pet friendly and my puppy was treated as well as the guests. However, the accommodating and friendly staff pushes this hotel over the top!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was very pleasant and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Carlos, USA

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Beds are hard. Lots of traffic noise, from trains and trucks. Needs remodeling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Great modern hotel in charming town. Can hear train boy not toonad
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S. Cal.

Rooms great - exterior not so much

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: It was available - my usual hotels in the area were sold out. The staff was great. Location was good.
Cons: Put in new carpet in the hallways, clean up the stairways, bring back the free breakfasts.
Good things: Rooms are clean and comfortable and had a fair amount of space. I was in a room that was right across from train tracks but it was not too bad as the trains only come about 2-3 times at night and window looks like they are about as soundproof as possible. They do provide foam earplugs. Evening drink was a nice perk and that room was nice. It is close to everything in downtown Davis. WiFi was acceptable. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Bad things: Exterior of hotel is pretty worn out as are the hallways. I like to take the stairs instead of the elevator and the stairways look like that came out of a 1950's Russian prison film. One of the stairway smelled like someone took a dump in it. Also they take you to the outside as opposed to the 1st floor. When I stayed there about 4 years ago they had a great breakfast included with the room. Now you get a voucher for $8.50 to use in the cafe. As most of the choices hovered about $8 and I didn't bring any cash down to cover tax I got the only other thing that I was sure would the voucher would pay for - a bowl of fruit. Which was a small bowl and was mostly unripe melon.