Ratings based on 620 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and spacious.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G

The Hotel Charges $14.00 / night for parking!#

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Beware: the staff will go in your room when you have a do not disturb sign on your door. They charge $14.00 / night !! For PARKING!! The water pressure is low. The light in the shower turns off while your showering. The couch is falling apart , it has spots on it and weird black strings all over the cushions. The staff pretends they care and then once they get off the phone, they talk bad about you and put you on a watch list if you ask for more towels like i heard them say once they got off the phone with an old lady. How did I know she was OLD? The staff talked so loud, you can hear them while sitting at the table near the front desk. The breakfast is a JOKE. They have LITTLE plates...they dont want you to take enough food ....fake scrambled eggs. Sausage was OK...and the waffles were gross...cheap batter. Nasty smell in there...like a cross between cleaner and pot pouri...now...i am all for cleaning...but it seemed as if they just masked the bleach smell. The TV was geared toward buying movies instead of watching tv. There is only ONE way IN and ONE way OUT. Once you find parking, you can't just get out from behind the building. The TRAIN is right There!! You can spit on the train. UC DAVIS is a nice to look at college...but, you can't go fast anywhere...cameras and cops. With nothing to do. No, i did not get a ticket. I know you were wondering. In conclusion, skip this crazy train and save money... go to The Marriott instead. I liked it there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Place For Business or Pleasure

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Staff: well trained, very attentive and friendly.
Cons: Doors to the outside hallway let lots of noise through from people walking and talking down the hall.
Location: Great location on the Davis Campus.
Great hotel overall and the staff is very professional and friendly. They've never disappointed me. Room was fantastic overall and quite comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Best in Davis

Posted Feb 20, 2017
We have stayed in Davis many times and this was our first at the Hyatt. We plan to always stay here in the future. Hot breakfast in the morning is great. Only issues we had were wifi - which for a hotel in campus was surprisingly dicey and went in and out - and "room service." They have food available 24/7 which is fab but would not bring anything to the room even tho my husband was in a mobility scooter. You have to order and then go pick it up. But a small issue overall that could be resolved with training which is why I'm mentioning it here. If you are a disabled travelled or traveling with disabled - great for this. No stars anywhere. Automatic doors. We did not take an accessible room as the beds are lower and had rails which are great for some but too much for us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

College hotel

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness and transparency
Location: UC Davis University
There's one thing that made me really mad about this hotel. It's located in Davis which means is not a metropolitan city. I arrived late in the parking is like all typical suburban hotels. After you check in the matter how nice the check in staff are it's really disappointing that there is automatically a fee for parking at the hotel. I get it in cities but in a place like this it really set me off. The hotel itself is fine. The furniture and rooms are located. I was also little concerned about the cleanliness of the bathroom. There's a free breakfast. There are not a lot of places to sit so it gets a little crowded. Everything was fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz, Ca

Would have been great...but too much outside noise

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: The staff were really friendly and the rooms were very nice. (I wish it had a bath tub though. I was really upset that it didn't)
Location: We were only there for a competition, didn't do much exploring nearby.
I would have loved this hotel but the train goes by every 20 mins or so and blows its horn. So i wasn't able to sleep at all. My daughter had a Cheer Competition and we had to get up at 5:30 AM. We were exhausted. The other guest on the same floor as us were extremely loud, leaving their doors open chatting and drinking alcohol. There were people running up and down the halls all night long. It was just a horrible experience. I understand that wasn't the hotel's fault but it made my stay there really bad and i do not think that i would stay there again unfortunately. Mainly because of the train keeping us awake all night. It's literally right out front of the hotel, wish i had known that when i booked the room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Livermore, CA

Great Hotel Right on the UC Davis Campus

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Staff was very friendly. Hotel wine/beer bar was a nice place to even a quiet drink. Room was outstanding!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Right on campus, so easy to tour. Arboretum is a short walk away. You can easily walk to downtown for farmer's market or restaraunts.
We recently stayed at the Hyatt Place after a UCD basketball game, and really enjoyed the stay. The lobby area was very nice and welcoming. The room was spacious, quiet and very comfortable. We went down to the wine/beer bar after the game for a quick drink and snack -> selections were plentiful, wine/beer very tasty, and the prices very reasonable. You are right on the campus, so its easy to wander around the Arboretum, or head to the Mondavi center, or even walk downtown. We are looking forward to a return visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Close to UC Davis conference center

Posted Jan 18, 2017
I liked being able to walk to my conference. I walked to a place for dinner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by Hyatt Place UC Davis Management, Hotel Management
Greetings Bob, Thank you so much for the great feedback from your stay! We do our best to provide our guests with a great experience, including the ability to walk next door to the UC Davis Conference Center. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to hosting you in the near future. Best regards, Hyatt Place UC Davis Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fortuna, CA

Nice stay on UC Davis campus

Posted Jan 10, 2017
One employee was extremely nice while another employee who seemed to be the manage appeared irritated when answering any questions I had or when helping with me at the Starbucks counter.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Good spot to stay on I-80 between Sacramento and Fairfield. Much better than most of the chain lodging in that area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by Hyatt Place UC Davis Management, Hotel Management
Dear Mark, Thank you for your kind words and feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hyatt Place UC Davis. It's great to hear that our guests are enjoying their stay. We hope that you return soon! Kind regards,