Ratings based on 2,070 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Convenient to Sacramento

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: Homeless people around edge of property at night.
Location: Old Sacramento historical area a only a mile away.
Property is easy to access from major highways. About a mile from historic Old Sacramento Historical area. Convenient to downtown and the airport. Property was clean and seemed to be well maintained. Front desk personnel were friendly. Room (323) was small and a litltle cramped. Bed comfort ok, beds were full size, not queen and while passable the mattresses were too "bouncy." Few basic amenities-just an iron, small coffee maker, and a hair dryer. No microwave or refrigerator. Free internet and Wi-Fi, basic cable tv. Morning breakfast free, no frills from 6 to 9 am.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA, CA

Grt loc,nice pet area, sweet staff, dirty exterior

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Staff was great and location was exactly what we needed to visit the capitole building and old town, but there are many homeless people milling about. Personally, as a woman I did not feel safe after dark and was uncomfortable letting my sons out of the room alone. The ground, elevators and walls were FILTHY, and oddly, there is only one waste paper basket per room. Staff was GREAT. Brittany was patient, sweet, professional, and accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2017 by LQ Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Andrea, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. While we thank you for your kind words about our staff and location, we are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the hotel in general. Please note that this information has been passed on to our management staff to ensure improvements are made. We very much appreciated your business and thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, Diana - LQ Customer Care
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Great customer service. Nice rooms. But there are very limited parking space.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Safe place to stay, night security and fencing

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Near the freeway a great stop over place
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland Oregon

Homeless issues

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Upon arrival I noticed several homeless men picking through the garbage and loitering outside the main entrance. My car was full of personal belongs and I was a bit concerned about my car being broken into during the night. There was a security person on duty but he was on his cell phone and didn't look to concerned about what was happening outside. In the morning I walked out my room door and noticed at least a dozen homeless sitting on the curb in front of the hotel. The hotel was not bad but the surroundings keeps me from recommending this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by LQ Customer Care , Hotel Management
Paula, We are very sorry to hear of your negative experience with us. The safety and comfort of our guests is very important to us. Your concerns have not been taken lightly. This review has been forwarded to management for further investigation. Please reach out to the hotel's General Manager so that we can better address these concerns. Again, please accept our sincere apology. We hope you will consider giving us another chance in the future to better your opinion. Sincerely, Danielle
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Great

Posted Jun 26, 2017
We showed up early and had no problem getting a room. It was clean, the bed was hard but comfortable. you could tell everything was updated. I would use them again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lack of security & no sleep

Posted Jun 6, 2017
The room itself was average. We checked in after midnight after a long day of driving and there was barely a parking spot left available. We had just about got to sleep by 2:30 and at 3:30 the room next door residents showed up talking loudly and a party was going on. We called the front desk who said they would send security which took a half hour to respond and right after they left. The noise started up again. At 5:30, another fight broke out. We called the front desk again. The hotel didn't ask the people to leave, even after multiple rooms complained about them. When we checked out, the hotel only offered to discount about 25% of the room rate which was unacceptable to us. The manager had already given directions to the front desk to discount all the rooms in the area. We should've been offered a free deluxe night at any La Quinta hotel. Apologizing for the disturbance and saying the unruly group wasn't allowed to stay again doesn't help you when you didn't get any sleep and another 14 hour drive home. Very disappointed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old buildings

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Not nice smell. Basic appliance and amenities that are too old
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Nice hotel, conveniently located close to freeway. Need to move homeless away from fence area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Smelled like cigarettes!

Posted Jun 2, 2017
I actually thought the hotel was okay. But they had other tenants staying in that same night and they were having a crazy party from 12am til 6am... woke up like 3 times (no joke) and scared because of all the yelling. Not cool. A place like this should enforce some rules for all the other people who paid to stay there. It was the room right on top of us. And they would come downstairs which were exactly in front of our room, screaming and laughing. It was pretty bad. The first time I heard them, for a second I thought something bad was happening.