Ratings based on 1,224 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Terrible

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Terrible service. Had to drive around the hotel 3 times that's setup like a motel and locate my room. Train that came by every hour "horning" in the middle of the night waking me up. Asked the front desk to be moved to front side of the hotel but was not able to. I cancel the rest of my reservation and booked another hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, as all feedback helps us to improve. We are terribly sorry you experienced these issues during your time with us. We never wish this on any of our guests. We hope you give Red Lion another try in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from McKinleyville, United States of America

Worst Red Lion Inn

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Near to things
Cons: Shut it down
Location: Trader Joe, Costco, InNout Burger, restaurants and shopping... not too far from the State Capital building.
With a cost of over $100/night, I expected clean and intact... instead the hotel is falling apart. For the $100 there are no amenities. No microwave, no fridge, no breakfast ...nothing. The beds had sleep # remotes that were filthy and didn't work. The TV was so bad that there was more static than picture and sound cut out 40% of the time. The mat at the front door (lots of rain) was broken into little pieces. There was no coffee when we arrived but they had a coffee pot. Received in reception by a very dour receptionist who did her job but looked sorry that we had disturbed her. Found out that the hotel is closing in 2 weeks forever so everyone there was losing their jobs. They had no right to charge so much for an obviously sub-standard hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Jill, Thank you for your feedback. We are terribly sorry you experienced these issues during your time with us. We never wish this on any of our guests. I have forwarded your message to the appropriate departments so we may follow up where necessary. We hope you give Red Lion another try in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice property

Posted Nov 21, 2016
It's a nice property, the rooms are nice and clean. But they actually need an upgrade. The top the curtains seems to be stained with water damage. The faucet in the bathtub comes off when you turn it on. I had an issue with the hairdryer, turned it on and it spiked on me and stopped working. I mentioned it to the front desk about the blow dryer and the faucet, the next they didn't do anything about it. If you don't get free breakfast with your rate, don't pay for it. Not worth it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Ana, Thank you for your review, as all feedback helps us to improve. We are terribly sorry you experienced these issues during your time with us. We never wish this on any of our guests. I have forwarded your message to the appropriate departments so we may follow up where necessary. We hope you give Red Lion another try in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wichita, KS

Served it's purpose.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: I liked the older style of the hotel. Old Spanish style was quaint and had potential. I don't mind old, just want clean and functioning.
Cons: There was no local reference guides, the phone did not work to the front desk for extra towels or for anything else. The carpet was wet enough we had to keep our shoes on so as not to step in wet spots.
Location: Close enough to restaurants and the mall; no guides though, had to google everything so there may be more things we were not aware of.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Dawn, Thank you for your review, as all feedback helps us to improve. We are terribly sorry you experienced these issues during your time with us. We never wish this on any of our guests. I have forwarded your message to the appropriate departments so we may follow up where necessary. We hope you give Red Lion another try in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Comfort

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Quiet and comfortable and knew this was the place for that during my stay. Have always enjoyed the comfort that their rooms have to offer.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Nice room and friendly staff. Bathrooms need updated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Old buildings, poor location,no real amenities

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Staff was friendly but that was all I liked. WhT more do you want?
Cons: The room, amenities location all could have been better
Location: Not much of quality
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Jack, Thank you for your review, as all feedback helps us to improve. We apologize your stay was less than satisfactory. We hope you give Red Lion another try in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NAPA, United States of America

No parking

Posted Nov 5, 2016
SometI'me during the night power went out. We didn't receive our wake up call and had to dress by the light of our cell phones. Thank goodness we had set the alarm app, would have missed our flights. Power out in just our block of rooms. Hotel hosted a UFC fight and parking was not to be found for paying guests.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 31, 2016
When I arrived to check in, the hotel reservation system was down & the staff refused to check me in using my text confirmation #. Plus the power was out in all the rooms and apparently had been out for awhile with no ETA of when it would be restored , because there were guests coming to the front desk checking out & requesting refunds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Lavina, Thank you for your review, as all feedback helps us to improve. We are terribly sorry you experienced these issues during your time with us. We never wish this on any of our guests. We hope you give Red Lion another try in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great breakfast, quite.

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Breakfast and location
Cons: Plumbing
Location: Cal expo and many restaurants close by.
Toilet would not flush properly even after three attempts by hotel staff to solve the problem.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Ronald, Thank you for your review, as all feedback helps us to improve. We are terribly sorry you experienced this issue during your time with us. I hope the Front Desk staff was able to find you a more suitable room to move you to. We hope you give Red Lion another try in the future.