Ratings based on 1,305 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

overbooked

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: do not like Super 8
Cons: stop overbooking rooms and charging customers
booked and received confirmation online, arrived at hotel and was told overbooked by the clerk therefore no rooms available, asked the clerk and was told that I will not be billed, two days later charges showed up on credit card
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from So Cal, Cal

You get what you get

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Close to the freeway (i5)
Didn't get to experience all of the amenities of the hotel, so this is based on my very short trip. I checked in, went to my room, changed quickly and left for an event, then came back at midnight, slept, and left at 5:30am. What I observed in this limited amount of time was that the hotel and the surrounding area was a bit shabby, bordering on sketchy. Carpet is well worn throughout the hallways and the room. The TV was an old heavy tube set that had cruddy picture at best. On my return back to the hotel I couldn't help but notice the armed security guards (one at the Motel 6, and the Denny's across the street) and the one in front of the Super 8 (complete with bullet proof vests). When I disclosed the hotel and location to the guests at the event who live around Sacramento, they all reacted as if I was staying near a prison, which would explain the guards at least... The positive is that I felt the bed and bathroom were clean, though the sink was stationed outside of the bathroom and right next to the front door, which is weird no matter where you are. And I think my room was haunted.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

My opinion

Posted May 7, 2017
Close to the freeway -although quiet at least on the Northern side. A short walk from two average restaurants + other shops and a Starbucks -across the blvd. It's a commonplace with extra tight bare essentials, for a brief touch-and-go stay. Nothing to add. I was unusually asked for $100 deposit to be refunded at check out. It did not happen. I had called twice, later on, and twice I was told that the refund had been submitted. As a credit card transaction it takes 30 seconds to complete but, a full week later, that deposit has not been refunded yet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from phoenix

Sweat to death.

Posted May 4, 2017
Arrived at my room. Only to find that the air conditioning had been left off in the room so was almost 90° in the room and very humid. Turned on the AC And it seem to work but shut off after about five minutes running for about five minutes then came back one ran a little bit more shut off so they must have it on some sort of economy mode to save electricity. Very poor customer consideration just to save some money on electricity.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fresno ca

Not bad BUT........

Posted Apr 30, 2017
The hotel itself is not bad, but it's right next door to a liquor store that's open til 2 am in the morning. The parking lot seems very unsafe and full of sketchy individuals walking around. I spent the night because we where heading to the auto swap in the morning so I had a bunch of merchandise in my truck. I couldn't sleep trying to keep an eye on my property.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from c

Bed bugs

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Horrible experience my kids and myself got bit up by bed bugs
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from RI

Alright hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2017
The hotel and staff itself were great, but I did have a few problems with the room. When I checked in I was told that my room was non smoking, and would have to put up a $100 deposit in case I did smoke. Which I had no problems with because I don't smoke and neither does my girlfriend who was also staying in the room with me. But every morning and every night I would wake up or enter my room and it would smell like ciggaretts and weed from other patrons of the hotel. Also I kept my room clean considering I didn't spend much time there and I never got my $100 deposed back. Kind of a bummer if you ask me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacramento ca

Close to highway

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Nice hotel, a lot of homeless, but there were two security grauds patrolling. Hotel didn't have elevators, and there is 3 floors, I was on the second.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Stay away

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Manager refunded my second night deposit with no trouble.
Cons: Empty the rooms of the people living there. Only people on vacation should be allowed here. Too many people acted like this was their home.
Location: Next to a few places to eat but it was hell getting to them with the amount of traffic in the area. Motel was almost hidden from sight.
Motel room was clean but very small. Breakfast was a joke. One woman guarded the yogurt like her job depended on it. Too many shady characters walking around. Someone tried to open my door a few too many times so I checked out after the first night instead of staying for a second like I had planned.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV

Practical and functional

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Cons: Breakfast was cold cereals, breads, etc. Better to go to nearby restaurant for better quality and comfort.
Room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Check-in went easily.