Ratings based on 1,470 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Nice room walking distance to food and stores

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Great experience I would definitely stay here again if I'm in Sacramento!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Bay

Love The Citizen, though it has changed

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: The decor is fantastic. So much political history, and still so hip and cool. The lobby and Scandal Lounge is a fabulous spot to enjoy a cocktail.
Cons: Keep your playful roots. Citizen was always bold and irreverent. The best parties were thrown there and they took chances. Don't lose that.
Location: Coffee - Insight and Temple. Concerts in the Park is an experience in the summer time. Catch a show at Crest. Park your car and walk or ride your bike
We love, love, love the Citizen. We were married there in 2011, and had many of our most special dining experiences at the Grange. We moved to the Bay before it changed owners and we didn't know what to expect coming back. The staff was excellent - couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating - from the valets, to the front desk, to the cleaning team in the hallways, everyone had a smile on their face and wanted to help. We were delighted to see that the decor in the hotel was as we remembered and after getting checked in, we planned on enjoying lunch at the Grange... we walked in and were completely disappointed at how much had changed in Grange. It felt like a completely different restaurant, different vibe. it wasn't bad, just not nearly as special as it used to be. It felt much more generic and far less hip with the renovations. We sat at the bar, glances at the menu and left because we were so bummed about how different it felt. That being said - we have a tremendous amount of memories of Grange before - we even took our engagement pictures there, that's how much we loved it. I think we noticed a shift in food when Tuohy left, but we were still happy to have a cocktail there, now the ambiance is just completely different. Not bad, just not the hip, urban, trendy place it was before. Overall, we would absolutely still stay at the hotel again - we love it! We will just get to enjoy a different restaurant. (On that note check out Empress below Crest, fantastic!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2017
There was a roach in my bathroom upon arrival and they leave dirty trays on the floor outside of your doors which is probably why I had a roach in my bathroom I reported it I also asked them to remove my dirty breakfast tray on Easter and why me and my son came back that night the dirty tray was still there at midnight and early in the morning
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Convenient location close to many things.
Cons: parking
Location: State Capitol, New Sports Arena, Old Sacramento.
I am returning guest at this beautiful property close to the State Capitol, Sports Arena, and Old Sacramento. The Hotel Restaurant 'The Grange" is excellent as well as room service. Hotel Staff is friendly, helpful, and available. I have been able to check in early to my room most visits. I have always valet parked am not sure if self parking if available.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Looks can be deceiving

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Old school boutique style. Restaurant was nice.
Cons: Deluxe rooms should be called a standard room
Location: Not much as I was only in for the night
Got stuck in a room the size of a shoe box right next to the elevator and with paper-thin walls that belie the fact that older buildings tend to have more stout construction and therefore more solid walls. Just be careful if you choose a "deluxe queen room" as you'll get something far from deluxe.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Room Service

Posted Apr 17, 2017
No one assigned to this position. I called several times and had to leave a message.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel downtown

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Beautiful comfortable hotel. It's a pretty swanky hotel with an excellent restaurant attached, and you can order the full menu to your room as well. Hotel staff was a little judgmental in my opinion. One night we were there and talking to the gentleman at the front desk (who had also checked us in); and while we may have been dressed down a bit for the night, the man asks us fairly bluntly where we were staying. My mother and I travelled together, and we are simple NW people who don't tend to dress in business attire at all hours, but we were treated as poorer people, which made us feel that we didn't belong here, which I hate to say because I'm very well off and when I stay at a calibur of hotel I expect to be treated the same as any guest regardless of money. The staff made my mother very uncomfortable and she felt self conscious the rest of time we spent at the hotel. Staff should be careful though, you never know who is a hotel critic. I probably wouldn't stay here again for those reasons, but the hotel itself is very nice and well decorated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California, U.S.

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: The history, architecture, and ambiance of the classic feel, of wood marble, style of interior decor.
Cons: The efficiency and demeanor of staff members.few were customer service oriented ,but there were others who didn't seem to enjoy their jobs.
Location: Great location for visiting the Capital.
The staff could have been more efficient and customer service oriented. A few were. May need to reconsider training and interview protocols for hiring staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2017
It was a clean room and nice for what we needed. The Valet crew was very fast and helpful. However I don't feel the hotel should be as expensive as it was.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I expected

Posted Apr 1, 2017
The hotel definitely lives up to the decor in the photos. The rooms are small, no counter space in the bathroom, and a bit dusty. The staff out front were present and helpful; the front desk at time were not present. But attentive when they were. I need a bit more space in a room, a chair would be nice; therefore I will not return. Thank you.