Ratings based on 1,314 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Very romantic hotel...

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: The history/décor.
Cons: I really don't have any complaints. My stay was very pleasant and enjoyable.
Location: VERY popular lounge across the street. And a short drive to Old Sac/mall (5 min.).
This hotel was everything I was looking for, besides our room key not working upon check-in (due to the front desk writing the wrong room number on the card). The hotel itself has lots of history and it shows through its furniture/décor (beautiful). The restaurant (The Grange) was amazing. Order the steak and tomatoes, you won't be disappointed!! The room was a little on the small side for a queen bed. But I didn't mind it one bit. It was cute, clean and comfy! Despite previous reviews regarding noise level during a wedding, we didn't have that problem. I couldn't even tell there was a wedding in progress. If you're looking for "after" drinks, there's a lounge across the street which is very popular, so get there early. It's not walking distance to Old Sac, and I wouldn't walk around at night (due to lots of homelessness). The hotel/valet was on point. This hotel will be my "go to" hotel for future visits!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great downtown Sac location

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Location: Plenty of good restaurants downtown these days, that are a short Uber ride away... the River is also not far from downtown.
If you're looking for something different than the Sheraton, Hyatt, Residence Inn, give this hotel a try. It is worth it. It's a really nice high-end, clean facility. The staff was helpful, professional, and even gave us some additional perks. The building has been around since the 1920's, so that adds a nice touch to it. Our room was a little smaller (but was exactly what we booked), very clean, good sized bathroom, and comfortable beds. The bar seemed nice, although I didn't have a chance to enjoy it... breakfast at The Grange was very good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Amazing hotel , very polite staff , and beautiful and elegant rooms
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2016
It was great. Don't understand red and yellow colors
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Good hotel but

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Hotel room good. But dining poor. We had the worst breakfast and service in 25 years of travelling. Stewed fruit out of a can when fresh fruit is in season. I could go on.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Citizen, goed hotel op goede locatie

Posted Aug 5, 2016
The Citizen is een erg prettig hotel met een mooie oude uitstraling. Het is een tot hotel omgebouwd oud pand, waardoor het charme en moderne luxe combineert. Vlakbij is Old Sacramento, het deel waar iedere toerist even heen wil (zeker doen, is erg leuk). Goede WiFi, goed restaurant, aardig personeel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elk Grove, Ca

Nice place with hidden fees

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Firat, let's start off by saying this hotel is great. Loved staying here. That being said, I do have a few small problems with it. First, the parking. While there is no traditional on site parking, there is a valley service that will take care of your car for you. My complaint about this is that it costs $10 for the first hour, and $28 per night. With no other alternatives near by, you are forced to comply and pay this fee. Second, I have grown accustomed to most of the hotels I stay in offering wifi to its guests. What I do not enjoy however is having to pay for my internet. Other than these two main issues, this truly is a beautiful hotel in the heart of downtown Sacramento with a wonderful and helpful staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Second stay here and this one was disappointing. We stayed on the 10th floor and the hotel had a wedding that night. The music was so loud it shook the room and ear plugs didn't even drown out the noise. Didn't get to sleep until after midnight.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near great food

Posted Jul 30, 2016
My wife and I stayed a night and had a wonderful experience. We used uber to go to dinner and a comedy show we came back and found a good cigar shop across from the hotel and walked around to different pubs and night clubs. Good location in the heart of downtown.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel near historic state Capitol

Posted Jul 27, 2016
I stayed in my suite most of my stay, working. The room was extremely comfortable and fun to be in. Very clean. High ceiling. Air-conditioner worked great. Lots of lovely natural light. Great views of a gothic-looking church and the state Capitol. The food from the Grange was very yummy and brought up quickly. I also loved the giant bathtub. Pillows were comfy. There's are some great coffee shops within walking distance too.