Ratings based on 1,483 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monterey

Cool

Posted May 15, 2017
Get a flavor of Old Sacramento days in today's accommodations. Convenient to Capitol and 15-20 minute walk to Old Town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester ca

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: location, ambience, everything seems well run.
Cons: continue with current program - valet parkers are very very efficient
Location: Dining and going to Macey's and convention center.
quiet, pleasant and Large nicely decorated rooms - liked walk in shower
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great location

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Close to lots of things downtown, rooms very comfortable, restaurant very good. Staff very nice.
Cons: Valet parking seems to be preferred way to be park here.
Location: State Capitol, Arena, Old Sacramento,
Checked in Thurs offered upgrade into jr suite with view. Beautfiul historic hotel close to Capitol, Arena, and Old Sacaramento. Hotel restaurant very good. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel is pet friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

So nice that I am a repeat customer!

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: Charm and staff. There was plenty of room which made it nice to spread out. I had excellent service from the desk and valet
The room was spectacular and the staff took very good care of me! This hotel has charm and is located downtown across from a nice park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madera

Nice and conveniently located.

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Nice and quiet.
Cons: Quicker Valet service.
Location: Great location with everything with a block or two.
Valet parking was a plus, very convenient but a bit pricey. Elegant entry with a classy atmosphere. Check in was pleasant and a breeze. There were several restaurants and bars within walking distance. The room was clean, nice and had a wonderful view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E

Beautiful hotel with great service

Posted May 2, 2017
Our stay at the Citizen was great. The staff were all well trained and attentive, and the accommodations were very pleasant. We did a suite, so having the separate bedroom was very nice. The bathroom was well kept and they had a deep soaking tub (water up to your neck) so you have a place to relax after a long day. I would stay here again in a heartbeat... and in retrospect wish I'd booked a few more days there!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Low value, not worth the price.

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Rooms are small and outdated, minimal hotel amenities, staff were not very friendly or customer service oriented.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Nice room walking distance to food and stores

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Great experience I would definitely stay here again if I'm in Sacramento!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Bay

Love The Citizen, though it has changed

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: The decor is fantastic. So much political history, and still so hip and cool. The lobby and Scandal Lounge is a fabulous spot to enjoy a cocktail.
Cons: Keep your playful roots. Citizen was always bold and irreverent. The best parties were thrown there and they took chances. Don't lose that.
Location: Coffee - Insight and Temple. Concerts in the Park is an experience in the summer time. Catch a show at Crest. Park your car and walk or ride your bike
We love, love, love the Citizen. We were married there in 2011, and had many of our most special dining experiences at the Grange. We moved to the Bay before it changed owners and we didn't know what to expect coming back. The staff was excellent - couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating - from the valets, to the front desk, to the cleaning team in the hallways, everyone had a smile on their face and wanted to help. We were delighted to see that the decor in the hotel was as we remembered and after getting checked in, we planned on enjoying lunch at the Grange... we walked in and were completely disappointed at how much had changed in Grange. It felt like a completely different restaurant, different vibe. it wasn't bad, just not nearly as special as it used to be. It felt much more generic and far less hip with the renovations. We sat at the bar, glances at the menu and left because we were so bummed about how different it felt. That being said - we have a tremendous amount of memories of Grange before - we even took our engagement pictures there, that's how much we loved it. I think we noticed a shift in food when Tuohy left, but we were still happy to have a cocktail there, now the ambiance is just completely different. Not bad, just not the hip, urban, trendy place it was before. Overall, we would absolutely still stay at the hotel again - we love it! We will just get to enjoy a different restaurant. (On that note check out Empress below Crest, fantastic!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2017
There was a roach in my bathroom upon arrival and they leave dirty trays on the floor outside of your doors which is probably why I had a roach in my bathroom I reported it I also asked them to remove my dirty breakfast tray on Easter and why me and my son came back that night the dirty tray was still there at midnight and early in the morning