Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs Major Makeover

Posted Oct 20, 2016
I stayed at this hotel about 5 or so years ago and it was great which is why I chose it again. I was so disappointed. The paint is peeling off walls in some areas. The carpet in my room was filthy with stains and the bathroom was deplorable. Great jetted tub that I refused to use because of how old and dirty it looked. I won't stay here again or recommend it to anyone else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Lovely Hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Had a call the afternoon of check in to let us know the air conditioner was not working. Went to see the room and decided to stay anyway as the hotel is what we wanted - a beautiful hotel with a 'home' feeling and not a 'chain' hotel. Curt was the person on duty when we arrived and he was very nice and helpful. He set up a fan in the room and with the windows all open (we were on the 3rd floor) the room stayed cool. The breakfast was disappointing. Breakfast was from 7-10. We came down at 9 and there was not much food left and no glasses for water/juice and no cups for coffee. Took some time to get the person on duty (Cameron) to come to the lobby and he wasn't very helpful. Commented that it wasn't expected that everyone would eat so they ran out of things (no milk for cereal, no bagels, etc). Hotel seemed full and with a wedding party also staying there we were surprised with his comment. Overall the stay was enjoyable and we wished we could have stayed another night. We will be booking to stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Sterling Hotel+Paul McCartney=Fabulous

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: We went to see Paul McCartney at the new Golden One Center. It was walking distance for us.
We were allowed to check in one and one half hours early. Beautiful victorian facility sparkling fresh. Staff was very friendly and professional. Room was beautiful, and very comfortable.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Place, Lacking in Key Areas

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: It is really stunningly beautiful.
Cons: The mattresses and the overall responsiveness of the hotel staff.
The hotel is gorgeous, the rooms are large, and it's in a perfect spot in Sacramento to walk to several top notch bars and restaurants. We were impressed and really happy to stay here, until we actually went to sleep. The bed was terrible. The middle was sunken in and no matter how I tried to move, I rolled to the middle of the bed- all night. I woke up several times and even considered sleeping on the floor. When I told the front desk about it, they just said "Sorry, we're remodeling and are getting new mattresses". Really helpful after I've already paid the full rate for a room with an old busted mattress. I would not spend this much to sleep that terribly again. If I had been offered something more than a shrug and offhand apology, I probably would have considered staying here again. As it stands, I feel ripped off and will not be staying at the Sterling Hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Easy Access to Downtown fun

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: I loved the decor and location.
Cons: I was very happy.
Location: Clean neighborhood with tons of local restaurants and bars within close walking distance. We Yelped all around on foot with good success.
We walked several places right out of the hotel or took a $5 Lyft to dinner and Downtown bars. The location seemed to be great. The Lobby and Room was clean and quiet with a very cute vintage theme. Bed was comfortable and the jaccuzzi tub was enormous. Breakfast was served downstairs each morning. Staff was very nice and helpful. The only drawback is the street parking, but we had no problem finding a very close spot. There is a parking structure at the end of the block as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old Elegance

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Whenever we come to Sacramento we stay at this beautiful hotel. Calm, beautiful and great staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Modern Victorian, amazing bathroom!

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Slightly outdated hotel, missing some of the amenities (ice machine, microwave) that I typically expect and the parking was difficult to understand, but it was a very spacious room that was lovely for an overnight getaway
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockton CA

Hotel was within walking distance of everything we

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Very comfortable atmosphere.
Cons: Could have had aa microwave and refrigerator in the room and better access to ice.
Location: Close to restaurants and night clubs live music and other.
Very nice hotel we wanted something different than the regular hotels we visited. very friendly helpful staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic but needs a Renovation and a deep clean

Posted Jul 18, 2016
We chose this hotel due to its historic charm... The lobby was nice and clean and had a modern feel. However, when we went to our room it was dark, dated, and dirty. There was 2 inches of dust at the bottom of each of the window sills. The sink in the bathroom was chipped and was clogged. There were only 3 pillows on the bed and no extras in the closet. It was very dark in the room but we kept it that way as we did not want to deal with the dirty window sills. Although it was close in proximity to great restaurants we would not recommend this hotel to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown Sacramento Gem.

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: Location is great for my needs. Nice update to Restaurants and things to do in Downtown Sacramento
Cons: Maybe in drought stricken California bath tubs that big are not necessary
Easy check-in and great big room. Comfortable bed, and I had a great sleep. I was only a guest for one night but the Hotel is a great addition to my list of places to stay in Sacramento
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to leave your thoughts on the Sterling Hotel. We invite you back anytime you are in Sacamento.