Ratings based on 2,243 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ca

Very functional.

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Location: 10 blocks to conventioncenter. The hotel shuttle will deliver you and come get you. Very convenient
Older but nice. Bed and towels updated and nice. Great tv with lots of channels. A little clse to the freeway but with the fan on great sleep. The breakfast was wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Petaluma, CA

Great location

Posted Feb 20, 2017
We just recently stayed here when we went to Disney on Ice at the Golden 1 center. The motel is in such a great location to be able to walk to so many things. We also walked over to old town Sacramento. Its a little noisy due to a major exit coming off of I-5, but they leave you earplugs in your room! The continental breakfast was great, offered so much more than your typical continental... eggs, french toast, sausage, biscuits & gravy, potatoes. I would definitely stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Clackamas, OR

Not what I expected

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Shuttle from Airport, bed was comfortable and the breakfast was good
Cons: Cleanliness, added outlets, room was stinky, communicate with your customers. Let them know if there is early AM construction near their room.
Location: Liked that it was walking distance to Old Town Sacramento
Nice that this hotel is walking distance to Old Town Sacramento but the hotel itself was VERY disappointing. The hotel feels very run down. Lots of people out on the stairs smoking. Construction noise woke me up at 4 am that was literally right outside the doors. I didn't notice that they provided earplugs next to the shampoo and conditioner. I guess that should have clued me in that it was going to be a rough sleep. The hotel felt very run down. No easily accessible outlets in the room to charge your phone or Laptop.The only plus I would give this hotel is that the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was good. I will not stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by AGMLarissa, Hotel Management
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff at desk gave wrong directions to my room.

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Staff not properly trained. The ones front desk check people in who they want first.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by AGMLarissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we have retrained all of our staff to provide the correct information to all of our guests. Hopefully, next time you decided to stay with us we can provide you with the information you need. Thank you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Napa

Rest easy!

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!! It was only blocks from where I needed to be. I could walk to Old Town and I could jump on any freeway in an instant!
Cons: New, more efficient heater would be the best investment ever. It was my ONLY complaint.
Location: The Amtrak station is RIGHT ACROSS the street (back side), Old Town is RIGHT ACROSS the street (front) The stadium is only blocks away!!!
Staff was VERY competent and kind. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. The heater didn't work well, blew out only slightly warm air but the down comforter kept me warm all night. I LOVED that the breakfast room was actually part of a real restaurant. The food was good, but they had no TEA. The hotel lobby did though, so that was good. Quick check in and quick check out was very easy and appreciated. Parking was free, sometimes in bigger cities they are not, so that was nice. Super close to downtown and THAT was was I needed. Right off the freeway and walking distance to Old Town Sacramento! I will surely stay again!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by AGMLarissa, Hotel Management
Wow, thank you so much for your shining review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you next time. Don't forget, every Tuesday we have a Manager's Reception from 5pm-7pm with free drinks and hors d'oeuvres!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento Valley

Clean, convenient, perfect for our needs

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: Convenient to Amtrak and to downtown Sacramento. Clean, comfy, quiet. Free breakfast and free local shuttle were nice extras!
Cons: Make a more obvious gate from sidewalk facing Amtrak to the hotel grounds - hard to see, especially in the dark..
Location: Centrally located to I-5, Old Town Sacramento, downtown, the new arena, & Amtrak.
When my spouse's Amtrak train 's arrival was projected later and later, I looked online to book a nearby motel for the night, and this was perfect - 1 block away, clean, comfortable, & quiet room (despite being near freeway and downtown). Free shuttle within 2 miles made connections safe. The complete breakfast in the restaurant next door was a relaxing and pleasant end to our unexpected stay in Sacramento. We would come back! The price was reasonable, too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good location.

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Nice, courtesy staff.
Cons: New paint.
Location: Old town.
Close to "Old Town". Minutes from my son who lives in Sacramento.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too noisy.

Posted Feb 1, 2017
When they issue ear plugs, you know the noise level is bad. when people were outside or walking by it sounded like they were standing in your room. You could hear the traffic all night too. Clean room but way too noisy to sleep without the earplugs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Vagabond Inn Management, Hotel Management
Firstly, we would like to thank you for your stay with us. Secondly, we understand your issue. We provide the earplugs for that exact reason. Our lively neighborhood is what makes our location so attractive to travelers, and we do have rooms that do not face the street on the west side of our property in case you would like to reserve those upon request during your next visit. Thank you again and happy travels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Free Shuttle Service

Posted Jan 31, 2017
The Vagabond Executive offers free shuttle service for a 2 mile radius from the hotel in addition to free airport shuttle. This means you have a free ride to and from sightseeing, meals out, business, or whatever you're doing in Sacramento.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by AGMLarissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Yes! We do offer a shuttle van. It runs daily from 6am-1pm. We are glad to provide all guests with a ride within our limits.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Great location, decent rooms, nice breakfast, good value!