Ratings based on 292 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Tranquil and lovely.

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: The old world charm beautiful craftsmanship. The peace and quiet was surprising considering we were pretty much downtown.
Cons: Coffee in the rooms would have been nice but they did have a complimentary breakfast.
The Victorian home is very old and beautiful. We were in the middle of town but it was so quiet and peaceful. We had our own cottage with a fireplace which was very clean and comfortable. In the evening we sat outside on a bench and watched a beautiful white owl land on one of the tree tops. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eureka, Ca

A wonderful stay

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Quiet and private accommodations, polite and friendly staff, lovely room with an awesome bathroom (loved the tub!). My room had a mini fridge too, which was really nice. I do wish I'd had an extra trash can in there, but other than that, it was just about perfect. I definitely plan on booking future stays there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017
great place in the heart of Sacramento. Cool, old town charm. Rooms were very clean and bright.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Bed and Breakfast

Posted Aug 21, 2017
We arrived to the 2 queen bed room. 3 of us staying had never stayed in an old Victorian. They loved it along with the grounds. The surrounding Victorian"s were added to the excitement. It was quiet stay and not much traffic for 20th street and it was a short Uber ride to midtown dinning. We ate at "The Tank House" and loved it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horribly disappointed

Posted Aug 21, 2017
First of all, let me say I have never left a negative review on a travel site...until now. We stayed at the Vizcaya last week and had wonderful things about the property. We arrived at 10:09 p.m. and the sign at the front door said that we should call an attendant if arriving after 10. We called the number no less than nine times, rang the doorbell, etc. No answer. Finally, someone called us back 30 mins later and said an attendant would be there soon to check us in. After waiting 20 more minutes, a clerk finally arrived. To us, it is unthinkable that a hotel OR B&B would have you wait an hour to check in. Someone should be there at all times. If you are going to arrive late- please beware. Also, our room in the carriage house was less than great. The porch lights outside are on all night and the bedroom stays bright when you are trying to sleep. The thermostat didn't work well to keep the temperature regulated and the decor in the carriage house is quite dated. The bathroom was the only positive. Save your money for a truly nice B&B.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from santa barbara

Find someplace else

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: good location, walking distance to several restaurants.
Cons: The building was very clean inside, and has obvious potential, but really needs to think about hospitality. It was way overpriced for what was offered
We were not able to reach the hotel by phone to confirm the address. When we arrived it took some time to find someone to check us in. When we did, it was fine but, we were advised at that time that the power would be out between 8 and 11, we subsequently found this was in error, it was the previous day, but until that time we were ready to find another hotel. Since we booked online with expedia, we were concerned about how to handle the refund. We were not offered one by Vizcaya even though we were not advised about the power problem. Our room was nice, but there was a lamp on one side of the bed that could not be plugged in. It took forever for the water to heat for a shower. Breakfast was included, but it was absolutely minimal, totally self serve and limited choices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Downtown Sacramento

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: It was not your typical hotel, as it was listed as a B&B. Towels were of excellent quality. Breakfast was ample for not being a full breakfast
Cons: Bathroom showers could use some attention. Paint was peeling and grout could use some attention. The choice to go for a workout was limited and costly
Location: We came to meet friends and go to the state fair.
Nice quiet area in downtown Sacramento. The room was spacious. Facing the street you could hear the traffic, fortunately there was not an abundance of traffic. Beds were very comfortable. Plenty of coffee available in the AM.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Nice and quiet location, clean and looks well maintained
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV

Fantastic staff.

Posted May 20, 2017 on Orbitz
The hotel staff was fantastic. With travel there are always little issues. The staff went above and beyond to not just answer questions, but took the next step to personally help and make our trip be very special.
4 out of 5
by chris

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
Good experience but continental breakfast was weak.