Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by holli

Sleeping Under the Stars

Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
We had an amazing night sleeping In a treehouse under the stars! The breakfast arrived in a sweet little lunchbox raised up to us by rope and pulley!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kelvedon, Essex, UK

Glamping in the tree canopy

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: Glamping in treehouses in the Forest canopy
Cons: The solar powered water heating did not work. We forgot to mention it until the end. I suspect it would have been fixed
Location: Whale watching, Bear Watching, Kayaking, Quad biking, Hiking
We (5 in family with "children" aged 26, 24, 21) came to this 3 night visit at Canopee Lit from a succession of 5 star hotels on our tour of Quebec region. Once we understood that Glamping is a step up from camping albeit a step down from 5 star hotel we really enjoyed our stay in the region. OK, it was early Summer, so plenty of mosquito's but appropriate skin protection and room screening kept bites to a minimum. Waking in the night to utter silence, listening to early morning birdsong, watching shooting stars through the canopy of the treehouse were great memories. There was a simple but friendly restaurant just down the road overlooking Saguenay Fjord. Breakfast was tasty and great fun to be hoisted above each morning from the forest floor. An easy drive into Tadoussac. Very much recommend Chez Mathilde. One of the best restaurants in Quebec!! Live jazz duo too. The Chez Mathilde and Canopee Lit staff have a passion for their region and the lifestyle product they have created. Well done to all and thanks
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2016 by L'équipe de Canopée Lit, Hotel Management
Thank you Simon and Liz.
4 out of 5
by Marko from Miami

Unique experience

Posted Jun 18, 2015 on Hotels
A unique experience!! Basic comfort, but extraordinary experience. Just a simple advice: don't go between Mai and middle of July, this is the reproductive period of the mosquitoes!!
5 out of 5
by Kerry from Lewes, UK

A lovely woodland setting

Posted Oct 2, 2013 on Hotels
Myself, my husband and my 12 year old daughter stayed for 2 nights in a fjord view cabin in August 2013. It was so different from the hotels we had been staying in - it was great to feel so close to the forest. The cabin was clean and had a homely feel. We did not cook our evening meal there as we went off exploring and ate down at the fjord instead. The breakfasts were lovely - sitting on our balcony overlooking the treetops and the view to the fjord. The staff were helpful and had booked a couple of excursions for us in advance - whale watching and black bear watching. All in all a lovely find!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Muddy paths comfy bed, instant coffee?

Posted Sep 29, 2013
Pros: Probably best for ski camping and rugged types
Cons: They should serve real coffee, cheese with the bread, choices for take out dinner, maps at the reception, fill in large mud puddles along the path.
Location: Don't miss the quaint restaurant down at the pier. The owner is so nice, and the bar is an amazing piece of art, made by the owner's brother!
Interesting experience, but a bit disappointing for the price. Reception gave vague directions to our cabin, saying there is a map in the cabin! No shower at the cabin. No lye in the outhouse, screen door hanging broken. No corkscrew. Maxwell house instant coffee and cold bread with granola at breakfast, but french press on shelf. Only fish soup available for takeout. Loved the restaurant at the end of the road at the pier.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by World-traveler from Canada

Treehouse Charm, not enough comfort

Posted Aug 4, 2013
Pros: The treehouse-like setting and its architecture.
Cons: The reception service, lack of shower at/near cabin. The unlit path to and from the cabin.
Location: Cute, but not distinguished.
We arrived at 9h00pm. The front desk manager took our luggage in a golf cart, but did not offer us a ride nor did he drive next to us. The path to our cabin traversed a forest. It was unlit & confusing. We lost our way. We heard the growl of an animal which frightened us. There was no shower facility in or near our cabin, which was very inconvenient. The reception area, which was a 10 min. walk from our cabin was the only location for a shower! we were told by the front desk manager that the shower at/near our cabin was under construction. A fact that was not mentioned in any of the online literature prior to booking. Additionally, there was not a single towel to be had in the cabin, which was only big enough for a queen sized bed & two side shelves, and nothing else. On the outdoor adjacent balcony, there was a nice wooden table with two chairs for meals and a cozy kitchen with sink & running water. Not withstanding all the above hick-ups, the experience of staying at Canopee Lit was novel and exciting. Our tree house like cabin was charming. Gazing through the glass dome above the bed was delightful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan from Dublin, Ohio

Fabulous Experience!!

Posted Jun 11, 2012
Pros: The view of sunset on the Saguenay River and fjord were beautiful.
The beauty of the location combined with a wonderfully designed cottage and gracious hosts made for a wonderful vacation experience. The food was delicious -- we looked forward to our delivery each morning! The cottage was spotless and surprisingly warm and cozy despite the chilly wind outside. A very enjoyable visit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kitchener On

Awesome view, wonderful service and a cozy tree house!

Posted Nov 18, 2011
Location: Tadoussac has a great boardwalk along the mouth of the fjord. Covering some forest but mostly spanning the big rocks along the edge of the point. It gives a great view of the fjord and the St. Lawrence.
Everthing was excellent. The staff was friendy, totally helpful and attentive. The concept of the treehouse was extremely well executed. The view of the fjord was gorgeous and the location secluded and peacefull. On top of the amazing staff and location, the breakfast was delivered to the treehouse warm in a picnic basket. I have nothing but great things to say! And they were bilingual!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
Expérience dépaysante et très originale. Nous sommes très peu camping ma femme et moi et avons pourtant beaucoup apprécié notre séjour dans notre arbre. C'est très original et très beau.