Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Eldon

Excellent food on the Red Sea

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
The room was really spartan, but the food was excellent. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by Hesham from cairo

Amazing Hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2015 on Hotels
Amazing in everything ...except the rooms really need renew but over all we really loved our accommodation and big thank you to the animation team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

The exellent hotel for relax

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Get rid of flies on the beach please
Location: Red sea, that enough :)
It was 7th vacation in Egypt for our family, and It was the best! Never in my life before I met SO friendly staff - it was like visit to old friend or relatives! Room-cleaning was good, fast and always in-time (sometimes it was just unbelievably!), comfortable mattresses (I have problem in my back.. so, it's important for me), no mosquitoes in room. Very good food: I could give everything to my kid while she is allergic! If you like spicy food - you always can add a variable too. Very beautiful sand beach with clean water and a few fish (good for us, we aren't snorkers). Architecture of hotel is very well thought out: short distance from room to beach, restaurant, playground, amphitheatre, bar. The rooms is right-oriented (no sun in afternoon, no neighbor's disturb). What is more Sol Y Mar Paradise Beach has a very good price-quality balance :) It's not luxury, but it's very-very good for family relax in lovely friendly atmosphere! We usually prefer to visit a new hotel every vacation, but Sol Y Mar Paradise Beach is the first hotel that I'm going to return! A lot of thanks and best wishes for staff and managment!
5 out of 5
by Dr Harvy from Egypt

It Is Really Paradise

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels
As a regular internal tourist.I can say really it is paradise .Excellent welcome Front office stuff esp.Mr Zakaria and Mr Aziz.Excellent food.True AI .Excellent sea;view and beach.Excellent security stuff .Even the geusts are so friendly as most of them are regular come to this paradise and sure I ll be like them .only need more water suspenser.THE animation team are their best to let u happy .
5 out of 5
by dureuil

Posted Nov 21, 2012 on Hotels
perfect!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canada

ok for sun and sand - hard twin only beds

Posted Jan 24, 2011
The Sol Y Mar is an aging hotel that needs some care. The beds are only twin and need to be pushed together. They are very very hard. That being said the food was more than adequate, the service friendly and cooperative. Safaga is not much of a town so the beach is really the only attraction. Room was kept clean. Internet is expensive. I would recommend this hotel for a low cost stay with a great beach, friendly staff and few expectations other than sun and sea.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not all inclusive............

Posted Apr 29, 2009
I was very surprise to have to pay our ice-cream around the swimming pool when all the others clients was drink whiskey, vodka etc... all day long because it's included in the price!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada

Warm & Friendly

Posted Feb 12, 2009
We enjoyed our week at Sol Y Mar. Great food choices, large variety. Staff was friendly and helpful. We were the only English couple there, lots of the Germans spoke English and were friendly. Family atmosphere, great kids program, lots of adult activities if you want. We would return. For divers and snorkeling this Red Sea area is great. Only down thing is Extremely expensive internet, we are travelling for a year and cheap internet access is very important to us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not what is advertised on the website!

Posted Jul 16, 2008
My husband and I went to Sol Y Mar, Safaga for our anniversary and were completely disappointed with the hotel. We were shown two rooms, neither of which were anywhere near suitable - both were very small rooms. The shower was tiny and very old and the rooms had very little light. We eventually got a room that looked decent, however it did not have some of the facilities listed on the website, e.g. bathrobes or hairdryer. The all-inclusive deal actually includes only one of the restaurants and one of the bars, not all of them, as is stated on the website. A leaflet given to us at the hotel told us that all 236 guestrooms, have a balcony or terrace and spectacular views of the sea, pool or gardens. We had a tree that blocked the entire window. The hotel is mainly German speaking (all the entertainment, childrens and evening, was in German) and those members of staff who did speak English did not do so very well. As vegetarians, we struggled to find suitable food. The food that was served was not labelled properly so it was very difficult to establish whether or not it was suitable for vegetarians. The glasses used in the bars were plastic, which is fine, if they were washed properly. Both my husband and I saw the waiters rinsing the glasses with water and then reusing them. This is basic hygiene and if they arent washing the glasses properly, who knows what else they didnt wash properly! Overall, a very bad experience, one that we definitely wont be repeating!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super Hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: Alles, bis auf die Kopfkissen.
Cons: Wie schon genannt, die Kopfkissen. Für die Strandverkäufer eine Regelung. Rotes Fähnchen, bitte nicht stören. Günes Fähnchen, kann angesprochen werden
Location: Ruhig gelegen, ein paar Kilometer vor Safaga. Wenige Shops, aber einige gute darunter. Für Unternehmungen stehen alle Türe offen und sehr günstig.
Ich war zum 2. mal dort. Dieses Hotel hat viele Stammgäste, was für sich spricht. Ich werde auch einer. Aber das nächste mal werde ich mein eigenes Kopfkissen mitnehmen. Die Kopfkissen waren mir zu hart, man wollte mir helfen, aber leider nur mit einer leeren Kopfkissenhülle. Schnorcheln und Ausflüge sind ein Traum.