Ratings based on 316 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Close to family

Posted May 17, 2017
We have been coming to the mid michigan area to visit family and friends for the last 9 years and have stayed at Bay Valley Resort every year but the hotel continues to go down hill....the carpet in the hallways and our room is stained and dirty....smells musty....the elevator makes horrible noise...we had to have our room key re-done everytime we entered our room ...no matter how many times we came and went....we were given 2 towels and 2 wash clothes and 2 handtowels....when i asked for extra washclothes they gave me 1 handtowel.....the continental breakfast was a joke...on friday of our stay they ran out of cereal and was told the truck comes in on monday.....the front desk personel were not friendly ....When my husband and I return to visit our family and friends we will not be staying at Bay Valley Resort and I would not recommend this hotel....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Past its heyday

Posted May 4, 2017
Enjoyed my stay as the room was adequate and the staff was exceptional. The whole facility needs to be update.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful but Dirty

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel was nice on the outside and the lobby was lovely. My room however wasnt cleaned. The beds were made, but there was blood on the shower walls, hair on the floor. Breakfast was pathetic. Nothing was stocked. The employees double charged my card at the front desk, every staff memeber I seen didn't talk to acknowledge any guests. It is a beautiful place, but cleanliness and friendliness is a major issue here. I am a housekeeper at a 4 star hotel and Bay Valley Resort is a 5 compared to my hotel. I give you a 4 out of 10 on my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Stayed overnight for a business meeting I attended the next day in Bay City. Rooms were very comfortable and the staff was very friendly and helpful! I plan to stay here the next time I have a business trip to attend in the Saginaw, Bay City or Midland area!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by nancy

Great staff; awful breakfast

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly staff, nice resort. Very helpful since I was stranded due to weather. Room was a bit dated. Breakfast was very, very inadequate and disappointing.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in Rough Shape

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Poorly kept hotel. Needs lots of renovation. Elevator might be in need of repair
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient, charming, comfortable

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
I enjoy staying at this hotel! It is a little tired but the atmosphere, staff, pool, relaxed pub style restaurant, and price brings us back time again. My husband enjoys the golf in spring/summer and I enjoy great shopping 20 min away in Birch Run. I don't know why more people don't take advantage of this location and easy access to shopping just down the highway!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
This place was run down and had bugs. My company booked a meeting there and a customer killed a bug on the wall. (Not sure what they were.) Service was slow and I felt like I was staying with relatives and not in a hotel... certainly not a "resort". It was very disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

nice place for the money

Posted Nov 16, 2016
good location. nice place to visit. clean room and good service.