Ratings based on 1,149 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Could be excellent!

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: The restaurant in the hotel is amazing! the staff were fantastic!
Cons: check the toiletries, conditioner is a no-brainer...the beds are ok for one night, but I'd have been hesitant to stay a second night in a row.
I was really excited to stay here it looked like quite a nice hotel, with a pool, jacuzzi, and a decent room with a balcony. The room amenities description mentioned shampoo/conditioner and the basics, but there was no conditioner in the room. and all the tissues were out- we had to use toilet paper all the time to blow our noses in cold season... we are easy going so it was ok, but disappointing. The beds sucked, and the pillows held no structure or support. We really liked the jacuzzi area, and the pool would be cool if it were warmer outside. The fact there was a restaurant in the hotel, with decent prices, and amazing food and drinks, was a fantastic piece of our stay there! We would stay here again if we got a good deal like we did this time, but I'd be prepared with my own toiletries.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canton, MI

Everything but breakfast.

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: The hotel is very Handicapped friendly. Our standard King room had plenty of room for lift use and wheelchair accessibility.
Cons: The included breakfast needs a total overhaul. Also, the in room television service needs to be upgraded.
Location: BIrch Run Mall down the road and Frankenmuth minutes away.
We had a nice overnight getaway stay. Breakfast time was a nightmare though, with many upset guests. The wait staff was way overburdened. The hotel should offer a free self serve Continental Breakfast style instead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Very Nice

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Staff, and the kids loved the indoor pool
Hotel is conviently located to several attractions. It is clean and well maintained. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Very nice

Posted Jan 29, 2017
The room was nice the breakfast left a lot to be desired. The coffee area needs to be bigger and what they call breakfast is really just toast. I've stayed in quite a few hotels and it wouldn't take much to make this place great. The bartender wasn't exactly friendly but we didn't spend too much time at the bar but we would have. The phone in our room didn't work so we couldn't order room service. If you don't care about breakfast the bar or room service by all means stay here. I'll stay again but I'll be eating elsewhere.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MI

Lacking

Posted Jan 18, 2017
The rooms were not ready until a half hour after check in time. I had reserved adjoining rooms and was given rooms that a room in between and had to be moved. One room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. Breakfast was promised at 6:30. As of 6:50 still not ready to go and since I had to leave at 7:00 I went without. And let's just say one of the bathrooms was less than clean.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Loud

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: partly Remodeled
Cons: Quiet hours enforced
Location: Frankenmuth
We were right next to the juice machine which was squealing starting at 6:30 am. Children Running down the halls screaming and stomping to the pool down the hall. Loud in the hall untill12:30. Front desk would not respond to calls. Very disappointing. Room was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by Tamra M. , Hotel Management
I do apologize for the noise with the children in the hall. We do try our hardest to keep things quiet, keep the yelling and running to a minimum but some times we are not able to catch up with everyone. I am sorry that this left you with a negative view of your stay. We do have rooms in other, quieter areas of the building that might be more enjoyable for your next stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w

Good location

Posted Dec 31, 2016
The hotel is in a good location as far as close to Frankinmuth as well as close to the outlet malls. The bed is really comfortable, the room is really clean. Has all the amenities you need for short stays and for what you're doing up there cause you're never in your room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by Tamra M. , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review on your recent visit to Birch Run and Frankenmuth! I am glad that your stay at our hotel only added to your enjoyment of this area!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Dec 30, 2016
The motel is in worse condition than it appears in photos. The mattress in the room was completely worn out. The hot tub is out of commission. Paid for the night but decided to drive the 2.5 hours home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2017 by Tamra - Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
I do apologize for the issues you experienced on your recent stay. We are currently renovating our entire property. This is going to include updating the hallways and rooms, including replacing our mattresses. Our property will look completely different when we are finished. It is very unfortunate that our hot tub was closed the night you were here. We always try to do our maintenance early in the mornings but we had to extend it into the evening that one day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Booked a pet friendly room ... I don't consider the second floor in the middle of the hotel "pet friendly" ... used condom laying on the walkway into the room ... nails and construction debris laying in the parking lot ... SAT down on the bed and immediately sloped to the middle ... Needless to say we left without a refund and went elsewhere ... NEVER AGAIN !!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2017 by Tamra - Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Our pet friendly rooms are our exterior entrance rooms as these are the easiest access for traveling with pets. I do apologize that you felt that your room was not convenient that it was located on the second floor. If we would have known that you had experienced any issues before you left we could have worked with you to remedy the situation. I do apologize that you were disappointed with your stay. I sincerely wish we would have been given notice and a chance to correct the issues that you experienced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Breakfast is Great

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Good for the price...room fairly clean but no microwave. Hotel staff are friendly and the lobby bar adds a nice touch.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2016 by Tamra - Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I apologize for the disappointment of not having a microwave in your room. However we do have a microwave available in the breakfast area for guest use 24 hours a day. As for the bar, we are the only hotel in Birch Run to have a lounge on the property. It adds a bit of fun and convenience to your stay!