Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very basic accommodations.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: It is relatively in expensive.
Cons: Insure that the hotel gets confirmation of paid reservations.
We did not have any bed bugs but I saw one patron bring a cup with a dead bed bug to the attention of the manager. The breakfast was as basic as it comes. Two types of dry cereal, milk, small bagels, toaster, dry biscuit to go with chipped beef and gravy. Both days we had breakfast the trash can was full to overflowing and only when nothing else would fit did staff get it emptied There is a pool but it is not available for use. The motel is close to several restaurants, a mall and other shopping. We had prepaid for a room for three nights. When we arrived the manager said that she did not have any reservation for us. Fortunately she keeps a few rooms for walk ins. So we did get a room. My reservation number was 56805559.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Disappointed

Posted Mar 12, 2016
Pros: Location. IHOP next door
Cons: Needs a good cleaning. Stayed here years ago and there was a waffle maker. Place has really gone down hill.
Location: Location close to everything, shopping, restaurants
Booked in advance for 2 nights. No cleaning at all after check in--garbage cans not emptied, no fresh towels (like sandpaper). Room was not entered after check in. Breakfast? Only saw cold cereal and a quart of milk in the fridge. Sign above coffee mugs telling peopke not to fill travel mugs.
1 out of 5
by HEIDI

PLEASE REIMBURSE

Posted Jan 27, 2016 on Hotels
ON MY WAY TO CHECK IN I CALLED TWO SEPARATE TIMES AND WAS TOLD I DID NOT HAVE RESERVATIONS. I WAS STILL CHARGED FOR THE ROOM.
1 out of 5
by Sharon from Detroit

Posted Jan 20, 2016 on Hotels
Though I liked the check-in guy, I left before the night was over. The room was not cleaned, and when I left my clothes were filled with smoke smell. I was very disappointed!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Happening outside of hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: Parking Lot Security
Location: Close to stores and highway
A lot of visitors to hotel parking lot with people going between car and room. Gave the assumption of illegal doings.
4 out of 5
by Denise

Posted Jan 9, 2016 on Hotels
Overall it was a good stay, we asked for a later checkout time, 12 instead of 11, and the 3rd shift male said ok. We also got our 11am wake up as asked. But at 1120am a women called the room and said we were to be out at 11? I guess there was no communication, he was hard to understand anyways. But ok overall!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2015 on Hotels
Good for a night
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2016 by Dan, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey and share your experience,. It is great to know that you had a good stay here at our hotel. Allow us to serve you better on your next stay, please call our attention if you have concerns or needs assistance. Kind regards.
4 out of 5
by KIMBERLY

Posted Dec 22, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2016 by Dan, Hotel Management
Dear Kimberly, Our primary aim is to give you a comfortable and accommodating experience, and we are very pleased to hear of our success in this ambition. We can't begin to tell you how much we appreciate your five star review, and we can't wait to serve you again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Close to shopping and dining

Posted Dec 6, 2015
The only issue I had was no fault of the facility, however the loud fireworks on 12/4/15 @ approximately 7pm made it very difficult to sleep following 2 hours on the road beginning @ 5 am and a 8 hour conference at SVSU.....
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2015 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Monika, I am sorry to hear that you were not comfortable during your visit due to the level of noise. I will submit report to management in reference to your feedback. I am certain they will look into this matter and address accordingly. Thank you for staying at Knights Inn.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to shopping center

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Better maintenance.
Location: Close to shopping center and places
Toilet not flushing with tank lid on,had to remove the tank lid to flush the toilet because the flushing lever was touching the inside of the lid and the lever could not lift the flapper to flush the toilet
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2015 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time review your stay here at Knights Inn. I am sorry to hear about the inconvenience you experience due to the oversight in ensuring the room is well kept including the bathroom. I will send report to management and trust that your feedback will not go unnoticed. We hope to have the chance serve you again. Thank you for your business.