Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Historic home

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: The historic aspect Doc & his stories The cleanliness & comfort
We arrived late and Doc stayed up to welcome us. We had not expected this - we were prepared to find our key at the desk & had been given instructions on the location of the room. It was a very nice way to begin our stay. Doc made sure we felt settled and told us that if we had any questions about the property that he would be up and be happy to share information with us. We dropped our things and took him up on his offer. We learned a lot about the property, the history, and about a secret room. Our room was large and comfortable with a private bath. We slept very well and appreciate how clean everything was. The property really is lovely. We loved being able to see the river. Breakfast was generous with many options.
4 out of 5
by Joseph

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay away!! Worst night ever!

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
Pictures are deceiving. Building and rooms have not been updated in 30 years. Inn keeper looked surprised when we walked in, had to hunt for our reservation. We were the only guests (creepy...) Room was really dirty, dust, dead bugs and cobwebs everywhere, rugs haven't been vacuumed in I don't know how long. And this was the "upgraded" room because the worker couldn't even find the key to the room we booked...Ceiling was cracked, tv was tiny and only got 5 staticky channels (I am not exaggerating). Whole hotel reeked of cumin (Indian spice) and room was stifling hot. They did provide 3 fans however (apparently this is a known issue...). The pillows were covered in hair and the toilet seat was falling off. Area is quite sketchy, lots of boarded up houses and abandoned buildings nearby. 15 minute drive to closest freeway or any dining options. The continental breakfast was a joke. My husband refused to eat anything and we left early. Will not be returning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice B & B

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: People, had a bar, breakfast
Cons: The bed in the small bedroom.
Location: We went to Frankenmuth for 2 days for the holiday festivities
`This was a nice B & B the house has lots of character built in 1920 was given a tour of house, Our room was nice got too warm as it is heated with hot water heat, our friends bed was too hard we decided to stay another night, they had 3 room left, one was the room our friends stayed in. which we didn't want. They upgrade us both to a larger room for the night. Had a good breakfast on Saturday but on Sunday no hot breakfast just muffins, bagels and cereal. No mention of this was not going to be the same breakfast as the day before. They were in the process of decorating for Christmas very nicely done. I would recommend this B & B to anyone. Book through the hotel not a website.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

good location, convenient to frankenmuth

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Never spent a night in a bed and breakfast before, this a terrific experience, felt right at home/
Cons: Wish the website mentioned it was a bed and breakfast. It was a terrific surprise to find out it was a bed and breakfast, when you are used to motels.
Location: Was easy to get around, and spent our time in Frankenmuth, a place we never have been.
First night bed was uncomfortable, but every else was exceptional. Staff was knowledgeable about the house and you were welcome. The second night was a last minute thing because we didn't want to go home. the bed the second night was very comfortable and got a good night sleep. Would like to plan another trip sometime in the future and stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Marilyn Monroe & Elvis Presley Stayed Here

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: All old furniture, fireplace, & ghosts
Cons: Get rid of the more annoying ghosts.
Location: Meet ghosts
Great place; the ghosts were friendly. Breakfast is tiny.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
Nice room and place. We felt it was a little expensive. Especially with a continental breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
Nice historic inn but don't expect service. For the price and nature of the inn we expected a lot more than what was delivered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Lovely old mansion, clean and comfortable

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Our concierge called us before we checked in to make sure we were accommodated on our arrival. He was friendly and offered us a tour of the mansion ( 1929 vintage). Our room was clean, comfortable, and like stepping back to another era. We enjoyed a nice continental breakfast in the old dining room decorated for Christmas.
2 out of 5
by Beth Ann from Portland, OR

Faded Grand Dame

Posted Aug 7, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel must have been opulent in it's day but it seems that there have been no updates since. Our bathroom was very dirty, cobwebs about and the carpet did not appear to have been vacuumed in some time. Kind staff, but over priced beers, $5 for a Miller High Life? We had to leave early so we missed breakfast. I don't think I would stay there again.