Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, Ohio

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Quaint with a history behind it. Got a tour of some of the spaces and was blown away by "secret" surprises". Naomi was a great hostess to us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bait and switch tactics

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Driving away.
Cons: The employees could dress like they work in the hospitality industry, practice good manners and clean the place.
Location: If you find yourself in Downtown Saginaw I would recommend dinner at Bradley's Bistro, brunch at Savoy Bar & Grill, and staying at any other hotel.
Before you book your room, you may want to take a look at their more expensive rooms and notice they use the same photos of their luxury suite for everything. That's not the room you're getting. In fact, you may not get the room at all. We were put in a shoddy room in the filthy carriage house and they blamed Expedia, saying that they never get the reservation until the day after. However, when they showed us their e-mail from Expedia to prove it it was marked with the date that I booked. They weren't willing to take any responsibility at all, saying that it was my fault for not booking directly with them.The guy at the desk was dressed for high school rather than hospitality. When he went to show us the carriage house the first room he showed us wasn't cleaned. When we checked out we checked on that room. Still not clean. A five dollar tip was left on the dresser for the no one who will ever clean the place. In our own room we flipped over the comment card to reveal it was already filled out by another couple over a month ago. The last time it was cleaned must have been sometime before that. The main building is beautiful but the people are rude and the carriage house is unfit to rent (which they seemed to agree with, because it was empty except for us and all the room doors were left swung wide open and they seemed to be using the hallway for extra storage). They promised the night before to get the price worked out but in the morning we were left with only excuses.
5 out of 5
by James

I’ll be BACk !!!

Posted Nov 19, 2017 on Hotels
N
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Huron, MI

Very nice!

Posted Nov 19, 2017
A great place for a weekend getaway. Very quiet and relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westland, MI

Quaint Old Place for a Nice Stay!

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Pros: That every room is unique and different!
Cons: Maybe because we ate a little later in the morning, but the food was a bit cold and overcooked.
Location: The Montague Inn is very close to lots of bars and restaurants and is very near to the Dow Event Center as well.
The Montague Inn is a well-remodeled home from the 1800's and every room is designed and decorated differently, and named after a family member. It is a great place to stay and the staff is outstanding in their friendliness, courtesy and service!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty and needs many home improvements and updates

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
Loved the History but an over all rating for Montique Inn was poor. It's in poor condition inside and out. Needs repairs and updates in most rooms. Cubby kitchen on main floor was dirty from ceiling to floor. Over the two days coffee that was spilled and other things I can not discribe were not cleaned up. The entire home needs a super cleaning as well. I will not recommend anyone choose Montinque Inn Bed and Breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Harbor Springs MI

Comfortable, pleasant accommodations

Posted Sep 9, 2017
A very nice step into the past. Conveniently the Dow Event Center .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good place with a history

Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
Loved the history of the place and all of it original wood work just beautiful NM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Historic home

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: The historic aspect Doc & his stories The cleanliness & comfort
We arrived late and Doc stayed up to welcome us. We had not expected this - we were prepared to find our key at the desk & had been given instructions on the location of the room. It was a very nice way to begin our stay. Doc made sure we felt settled and told us that if we had any questions about the property that he would be up and be happy to share information with us. We dropped our things and took him up on his offer. We learned a lot about the property, the history, and about a secret room. Our room was large and comfortable with a private bath. We slept very well and appreciate how clean everything was. The property really is lovely. We loved being able to see the river. Breakfast was generous with many options.
4 out of 5
by Joseph

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels