Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2018
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southampton

perfect family resort

Posted Apr 25, 2018
Martinal is perfect for any family with young kids. Would definitely recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2017 on Ebookers
The staff at the reception is unfriendly and lazy, the others however are very nice, friendly and service orientated. The hotel is very nice, good food, great view and situated in a remote but nice location. Everything you do or eat costs extra and these prices are very high - in the end it leaves a feeling of getting ripped off a bit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Great hotel for all the family

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: We liked that the hotel has great facilities for children so everyone was happy. The food was geared to both adults and children.
Cons: The one thing that caused us problems was the lighting in the lounge of our apartment. It was very poor - could not read a book!
Location: We never left the hotel.- no need as plenty space and many activities.
We were very happy with our apartment. Even though the hotel was busy the grounds were still quite peaceful and our apartment not noisy. all the staff were very helpful and took care of grandparents, parents and children equally well..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Loved it (again!)

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Our second trip to Martinhal and it lived up to the memories of the first trip in 2015. The children were soon at ease, the houses have enough space to relax and not feel like you're under each other's feet. One thing we did note was that some parts of the accommodation are starting to look a bit tired and could do with a refresh - that hasn't stopped us looking at booking for next summer though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Windsor, UK

Child centred relaxing family holiday

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: - Spacious accommodation (2-bed Village House with garden) - Good size baby pool - Surprise birthday cake & port for my husband
Cons: - Prices in the supermarket are extortionate - Meals could be provided as 'all inclusive' or 'half board' to take worries away about final bill
Location: - Walk down to the sandy beach - Make use of the hotel spa - Take hoppa bus or taxi to visit the lighthouse nearby
Spent a week here beginning of Oct. Played with the idea of cancelling this holiday as we were worried it may be too cold, but luckily the coastal wind remained calm and temperatures were around 25. It was just warm enough to be able to use the outdoor pools. We used convenient airport transfer (booked by hotel staff, cost added to room bill). We didn't want to risk getting lost with a rental car in the middle of the night. We thought of hiring a car later for a trip to Lisbon but then discovered this would be a 3 hour journey one way, which seemed too much hassle with a 2 year old. We stayed in the resort all week, used the children's pool after breakfast, went to our village house for afternoon nap. Made use of the themed dinners and our little one enjoyed playing in the playground by the restaurants with all the other toddlers till bedtime. We didn't feel the need to venture out to other towns or shops outside the resort as we had everything we needed on site. We could have booked a taxi to do a big (cheaper) grocery shop downtown and then self cater in our accommodation ("Village House"), as crockery, cutlery, pots etc. were all provided. I should have read previous reviews in more detail as I could have brought some additional 'essentials' such as washing detergent, coffee pods, rather than buying them in the resort supermarket. We were totally anti self-catering before THIS holiday, but are now positively converted and shall be better prepared for next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Pros: Location next to beach, quality of accommodation, professionalism of staff
Cons: Evening meal option between buffet and "fine dining"
Fantastic hotel, great for families with young children, overall it didn't disappoint. As other reviews have said the food choices are limited, especially in the evening, 2 expensive restaurants or the buffet option. The "Wolf" pop-up grill was good but not open for 2 days a week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Amazing for families

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Stayed for a week with our 2 year old. This place is amazing for kids but also for adults. The accommodation was first class and the pools and sandpit/trampoline area was heaven for our daughter. Staff were really friendly and always on hand to help - they even tried to cheer up the kids if they were throwing a tantrum Only downside was some of the drinks were very over-priced - 13 euros for a G&T Would highly recommend We were in the mimosa houses so set back but short walk to village square Benefit of staying there was it has a private pool that no one ever seemed to use so I had the whole thing to myself
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted Sep 4, 2017
It was perfect. Food, beach and location. Most impressive where the staff and how great they were with young children. We will diffently be back.