Ratings based on 1,300 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Hotel is well located near to the central station and a range of shops and restaurants. The room we stayed in overlooked the courtyard and aside from being on the dark side (decor and lack of lighting), was perfectly adequate and in very good condition. The only additions I would have appreciated was a kettle and an iron/ironing board in the room. The staff were very professional and helpful. The spa and swimming pool was also very good. Didn’t try the food or drink (mainly due to price, for eg. Breakfast was 35 euros each) but the restaurant/bar area looked the part.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Experience Hamburg in style

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: History, style, class, staff, room
Cons: Exercise room
Location: I walked to the harbor downtown area every day. Great restaurants to complement the stay in many places. Took train from airport and walked.
Great way to see Hamburg but starting in the "past." Gorgeous and fully renovated + 120 year old hotel in walking distance to so much. Room was very, very spacious and staff was great. Do your exercising outdoors as the exercise room was a bit laughable. Breakfast was enjoyable if not a bit expensive. I'd come back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cuernavaca, Mexico

Great hotel well located

Posted Oct 18, 2017
The hotel is beautiful. Rooms are large, but some of the personnel do not represent the Kempinsky hotels well. We had a few minor issues with the room A/C and the doors opening system and reported them.to housekeeping, butbthe lady in charge kept saying she could do nothing and sending us downstairs to report it directly atbthe reception. She wouldn't go one step out of her way to make you feel younwere in a top class hotel like the Kempinsky Atlantic is supposed to be.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Unfortunately I left some things in the hotel room and they found them and are sending them to me. So nice of them to respond to my emails inquiring about the left items. Appreciate them sending them to me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Stunning hotel in Hamburg City

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Beautiful 1900s hotel We stayed for three nights in this stunning hotel, I would have rated this hotel 5* but a few points let it down slightly, Pros - location bet central by the lake and a five minute walk from Central Stayion and shops, Lobby and bar very grand, with a wonderful piano player at night We had the taster menu in the restaurant and it was top class, Rooms were spotless with plenty room and very quiet, Cons- We asked for food at just before 1130 in the bar and were told kitchen was closed, although locals still seemed to be getting served 45 minutes later. We asked twice to confirm we had table by window for our dinner but were put by a wall which was disappointing. The shower in bathroom leaked at top so we had to constantly mop up the water as it flooded the floor, Overall the hotel was absolutely wonderful and I would definitely stay again if in Hamburg but a few points downgraded to four stars as you expect perfect service and facilities from r a hotel of this Calibre and price,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oslo, Norway

Not worth the money

Posted Oct 1, 2017
I would rather select one of the other nice hotels in the area, for ex Steigenberger hotel. Atlantic Kempinski just did not deliver what you would expect from such a hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Cons: WiFi was difficult to use with a Kindle Fire.
Quiet, comfortable hotel close to city center but separated in a quiet location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Classic hotel, but recently renovated. Prime location in downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Excellent hotels and rooms. Spacious rooms and fully equipped for confirm. You can't go wrong with this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed

Posted Sep 14, 2017
The moment you walk in you feel that this is something special. Great hotel with great staff. Room is huge with high ceiling and huge restroom. Highly recimmend this . Personally I will be staying in this brand name anywhere I go if it's available because it's mostly European hotel and only in few countries.