Ratings based on 1,238 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Good old fashioned choice near the center

Posted Jul 25, 2017
This hotel has been on my bucket list. The staff is very attentive and the restaurant has nice views. The pool and sauna were a treat. However, the beds are very soft and the rooms are kind of small. It's nice and quiet on most evenings despite being so close to all the main attractions - most within walking distance
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boca Raton, FL

Hard to top.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Super luxurious bathrooms.
Cons: WIFI did not work well. Charging 3 Euros for "high speed" seemed petty.
Location: Quite close to the Fine Arts Museum.
This is a great, historic property, with a staff of polished polishers working hard to please the guests. It\s a pretty easy walk from the train station. .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

elegant old but up-to-date hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: See above.
Location: Right by the lakes, downtown.
All the creature comforts; comfortable room, attentive staff, lovely pool and spa, excellent breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Everything was good about our stay. Our only complaint was the room temperature was too warm. But the concierge was fabulous helping us recover lost documents.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Brilliant hotel - excellent staff who got it right

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Gym is very small
Location: Overlooks lake in Hamburg - close to all amenities,. central station, water sports, walking
The staff were impressive. nothing was too much trouble. They were there when you needed them but were not overbearing. They also knew how to get things done quickly and efficiently. The room was lovely and the room service was also efficient. The whole operation was impressive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from West Midlands UK

Premier hotel in fabulous location.

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: Grand but not overwhelming
Cons: There is no need for clean towels every day. Only one bath towel put out and we had to get the second out of the wardrobe each day.
Location: Ideal situation close to Art Gallery. Alster lake and Rathaus. Very close to the main station for easy access to S and U bahn connections.
Form check in to check out everything was excellent as one would expect from this class of hotel. Admittedly the Breakfast is a little pricy for those on a budget but i was well worth the expense.If you stay in a ***** hotel you should expect this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from St. Martin, F.W.I.

Of all hotels in the world, This is the best

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: If Udo was in residence.
Location: Hamburg is at your fingertips,,,shopping, dinning, culture, etc.
We are a married couple 60's+ and have stayed in grand hotels all over the world. Hotel Atlantic is our favorite of all (although there are hotels in New Zealand, Shanghai, Hong Kong, Bangkok and Johannesburg that come close). This was our fourth stay at Atlantic, but will not be our last.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

icon of Hamburg

Posted May 23, 2017
Very close to central station and city. Iconic famous traditional city hotel. Highly recommended. Walk to all city attractions from here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Istanbul

Hamburg

Posted Apr 26, 2017
The location is just fine, very close to main station and the lake. The hotel is a nice classic building with spacious rooms. The staff is smiling and helping. The bathroom is modern and very clean. I liked the room at all, not very modern, but not antique. The cafe and the bar at the lobby level is very good to spend sometime too. The flat screen could be a little bit wider, because it's really far away from the bed, but I never watch tv during the trips, for this reason didn't mind. However the free internet is available for more then one device and free, but it's slow; you have to pay if you need a faster access
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel

Posted Apr 26, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel and friendly and helpful staff