Ratings based on 564 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just OK

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was ok. No room service as we stayed 2 days. I broke a tooth eating their museli which now I'll probably need a crown. Staff not friendly. The area is nasty and a bit dodgy but cheap hotel and for the price was fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
convenient but not fancy, no obvious renovations in the last 20 years?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent position to explore town

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: position, helpful reception
Cons: lighting in the room
Location: close to all we wanted
we visited Hamburg primarily for the chrisrmas markets, also ventured on the underground to the tier park. Staff on hotel reception very helpful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Cheap n cheerful

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Hotel Polo is near the bus and train stations but is in the red light district. Rooms are basic but clean and comfy. Breakfast is fresh and plentiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland OR

Small and funky but great value in neighborhood

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Good location, great staff, clean and tidy, good breakfast selection.
Location: Adjacent to main train and bus stations and all tourist and business destinations in central city area.
The Hotel Polo is located just 200 meters from the South end of the main Hamburg train station (Hauptbahnhof) and directly across the street from the Central Bus station (ZOB). So, as you might predict, it's a noisy, urban neighborhood with plenty of colorful characters coming and going at all hours of the day and night. I'd call the Polo a classic, small, well-done refurbished hotel, like a brownstone that's converted to small rooms. When I say small, I mean small - enough room to turn around in and not much more. But as loud as the street environment is, the rooms are secluded and quiet, nicely (if simply) appointed and super clean. The bathroom and shower is small but also very clean. The shower and sink water supply was excellent. The TV had German and English channels available. Breakfast is not necessarily included in all room rates but is worth the cost - a good selection of fruits, cereals, breakfast meats and cheeses and all you can eat. The front desk staff was unfailingly polite and spoke better-than-good enough English for this non-German speaker (although I did get to speak Russian with one of the staff). All in all, this is a great spot to stay for a night or two if you're in town on business and need a decent place to lay your head. It's not the 4 Seasons but it is perfectly acceptable as an economy destination.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from NYC

Conveniently located to train/metro station

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Nearby by train station and metro
Cons: The wifi - it didn't work on the top floor where our room was located. We had to go to the lobby to access and use.
Location: Close enough to the train and metro to visit any where in the city. The wharf was very nice and fun to visit.
The hotel was clean, staff was friendly enough, breakfast was pleasing, and location to train station and metro to and from wharf was excellent. However, the surrounding neighborhood made us a bit nervous with our children ages 10 & 12. It was of a less family-friendly area than desired. Also, being across the street from the bus station made it loud and brightly lit ALL night. Wifi didn't work in our room (top floor), had to go down to lobby to use/access. I feel a bit badly about this review because the hotel was fine enough, it was truly just the neighborhood that made it not so great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Don't prepay!!

Posted Jul 2, 2014
This place is a bump. We did not feel safe at all staying in it. From the outside, we hesitated to get out of the car. After asking to see our room we made the choice to go somewhere else. Unfortunately we pre-paid for the discount. We lost our money however, we did not get robed or have to stay in a dingy hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tsung-Sheng from Pardubice, Czech Republic

affordable hotel in Hamburg

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Location and price.
Cons: Breakfast.
Location: Rathaus (city hall), shopping district and lower Alster Lake are nearby, within walking distance.
Hotel is very close to central station, and we can reach airport by metro S1 line. But the first time to find the right location of hotel, it took us a little longer time, based on GPS instruction(my navigator is most updated). After that, no problem at all. In general, it's very convenient.
4 out of 5
by thisislondon from London

Great Location

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels
Really centrally located hotel with helpful and friendly staff. This isn't a high end stay but is great value for money.
4 out of 5
by Joey from London

so convenient

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels
Very affordablewell pleasant for the location so conveniently close to the bus and train stations. Literally a couple of min walk. Room spacious, windows open nice and wide, clean where it mattered though under bed filthy, shower worked well, shower gel/shampoo provided good, breakfast good but you must go early to get a table, bedding comfortable but pillows a little flat, must pay for internet and it is poor at best - don't bother. Surrounding area described as sketchy on other reviews but we had no problems. Some kind of quiet protest going on on the corner and people hanging around, that's all. Hotel staff friendly. Able to leave luggage there after check out. Supermarket in train station affordable, second floor. McDonalds across the road. Less than 10 min walk to high street and mall.