Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Jonathan

Friendly, quirky, good location

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
Warm welcome from helpful staff. The hotel is characterful and has a friendly atmosphere. The hotel is quite quirky, but in a good way. The decor feels a bit tired in places - the photographer did a good job! - and the entrance to the blue building is slightly stark/industrial feeling. The facilities in the rooms are also pared back - no hairdryer, kettle, plain blackout material curtain etc - but there was an umbrella (a nice touch as you have to cross the street for breakfast) and there was complimentary bottled water. Single duvets on double beds was interesting, although not a problem as our bookings were for single occupants of each room. Beds were comfortable and we both slept well. The surrounding area had plenty of interesting places at which to eat - we opted for Cox's, which turned out to be a good choice. They accept only Maestro, American Express and cash, but were relaxed about me popping out to the nearby cash point at the end of the meal. The hotel is an easy 15 minute walk into the centre with the picturesque lake nearby. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect for a weekend hideaway

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely little unassuming hotel on a quiet side street in a charming section of Hamburg. Delightful staff, understated decor with an emphasis on books (!), great bed and bathroom, a nice breakfast, and a great location for me, very close to the train station.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable rooms

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
Room was designed using a lot of wood, quite pleasant, but nothing fancy. Beds are comfortable. Rooms are nicer than the lobby or hotel itself, which is quite basic.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
This is a gem of a hotel and deserves a much higher rating from my experience. It is perfectly located, clean, comfortable and has very good staff. I would go back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, well located hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
A very short visit as I was traveling further north. Arrived late to a warm welcome & fell wearily into a warm, comfortable bed. Facilities and services were of a high standard. The only minus, which did not affect me, was the two flights of stairs, and then the further flight down into the room. This could have been a major problem for anyone without my level of fitness. I would stay at this hotel again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Obvious Advantages and Disadvantages

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
Although noted on their website, the hotel consists of several different buildings rather than a single building. I hadn't noticed this and was surprised. Also, there aren't any elevators, and the first room they have me was across the street and on the 4th floor. When I explained that I have leg and ankle problems, they graciously and quickly changed my room to the ground floor of the building. Although the room was adequate, the hallways was drab and unpleasant. The staff were very kind and helpful, and the breakfast service and staff were very nice. The main building has a beautiful garden and the lobby serves as a bookstore where noted authors give readings. The hotel is less than a block and a half away from a lively street (Langereihe) with lots of interesting restaurants, and it's only a short walk or one bus stop away from the main train station. Since I prefer to have all rooms in the same building and because I also rely on having an elevator, I wouldn't be able to stay there again. Nevertheless, the hotel has a number advantages. The Alster (lake or river) is only about a block away but not visible from most of the rooms.
5 out of 5
by William from Orinda, CA

Wonderful Hotel, great feel.

Posted Aug 25, 2016 on Hotels
We had a double bedroom that was a good sized queen bed for two adults and then a pull out couch for two children. They helped us up the stairs with the luggage as there was no elevator and after we arrived, 15 minutes later they brought in a snack tray with cookies and fruit. Fantastic. The breakfast buffet was wonderful too and they had a great wine selection for early evening drinks while sitting outside in the courtyard. It was 15 walk to the city center and 10 minutes tops to the train station. Very easy to get around and plenty of food options just the next few blocks.
5 out of 5
by Jillian from London

Felt like we lived there!

Posted Dec 17, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel in a great city. It's not a traditional hotel, the rooms are all in different houses on one street. Ours was a lovely room in the yellow house which was very comfortable (fluffy duvet and very powerful shower). Breakfast was yummy with lots of choice of good quality ingredients. The area is lovely, lots of bars and restaurants and walking distance to the main station. Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Munich

Excellent Breakfast with a great garden

Posted Sep 7, 2017
We loved the breakfast, great choice. The breakfast was prepared with love and passion from two itallians. all staff members are extremely friendly. The room is great, so much wood around, wooden floor and wooden blinds. perfectly.