Ratings based on 1,019 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Decent hotel close to central train station.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Good location for public transit. Neighbourhood is a mix of shops (including 'playhouses' which I assume are strip clubs and/ or casinos) and ethnicities - some may be put off, but didn't feel dangerous, at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fife

Close to station but unexpectedly over a sex shop.

Posted May 16, 2017
Welcoming and friendly staff, good choice at breakfast, clean, looked to be recently refurbished. Slight damp smell in room, otherwise clean and comfortable. Handy location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire UK

Fantastic

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Very impressed with my room and the hotel in general. The breakfast buffet was very good and the staff were nice.
Cons: Nothing really
Location: The location was not great on own at night, as a bit seedy but close to train station so not necessary to stay around hotel in evening.
A good experience. Comfortable and quiet room at the back of the hotel. I was on my own for two days in order to watch a concert at the Arena and I could not have picked a better place to be for this purpose. There are plenty of shops and department stores to visit just around the corner (you could shop all day there) or as I did, go to the Kunstalle Museum of Art (which took me 5 hours to look over all of the collection). There are city bus tours just outside the Central Station and the Line A bus gives an English spoken historical guide, which was both interesting and entertaining. There are many restaurants offering good, relatively inexpensive food along the street opposite the station and there are very cheap (but good) fast food outlets along the street in which the hotel is situated (Steindamm Strasse). The hotel also have a room where they allow you to leave your case after you check out for free. Everything was easy and convenient and helped me to make the most of my limited time.
4 out of 5
by Peter

Clean, comfortable and cheap with easy transport

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
I was very happy with my stay. My room was quiet (at rear), clean and comfortable, on 5th floor (lift only goes to 4th floor so you have to climb a flight of stairs). Shower was excellent. Another plug socket in the room would have been helpful, but I plugged my phone charger into the bedside light socket instead. Hotel is no more than 5 minutes walk from Hauptbahnhof, so easy to visit anywhere in the city. Plenty of places to eat nearby, ranging from take-aways to decent restaurants. Breakfast was fine, with a good selection of drinks, cold meats, cereals, fruit, fresh bread, preserves etc. and scambled egg (no sausage or bacon). If visiting Hamburg again I would very happily stay in the same hotel, and recommend this to other budget travellers. Immediate area around the hotel was a bit seedy, and lots of small groups of people hanging around, but it didn't put me off, although it could be off-putting to some.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

2 night trip in Hamburg.

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: The staff, the breakfast and the closeness to the centre.
Cons: The triple room that we stayed in could do with redecorating and modernising but it was still comfortable.
Location: If you are enjoy visiting sex shops and using the services of sex workers, then this the hotel for you. We visited the Chocoversum by Hachez museum.
I booked this hotel without reading the reviews throughly enough. The pictures of the hotel on Expedia were quite misleading. They failed to show the hotel in the context of being above a 'World of Sex' shop. As I was travelling with 2 young travellers, I was appreciensive about staying here. The hotel itself was pleasant enough. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good with a ample choice of continental fare. The location was only a 10 minute stroll from the central train station. Unfortunately the gangs of young men and prostitutes congregating outside of the hotel gave a rather unsavoury feel to an evening. If you are travelling without children, this hotel is a good value, centrally located option but I would recommend visiting with younger travellers. P.s I would recommend asking for a room towards the back of the hotel because it can get quite noisy at the front.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Poor Breafsst presentation and limited choices

Posted Jan 27, 2017
There were no measures in place to cater for guest with allergies. One size fits all service. Customer service at this hotel is poor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Ebookers
Clean, you get what you pay for. pleasant experience situated in a great location, yards from the train station.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central position for everything

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
Location was good for getting around. Near to underground, train station, buses around the city. The hotel was clean and the staff welcoming. The rooms were basic with no tea and coffee facilities however they were large enough. Our bathroom was small but the shower was good and there were enough towels provided. The breakfast was good each morning and the staff were always replenishing it so there was always enough. On the downside, the lift was very small and slow and therefore you had to walk up a lot of stairs if you didn't want to wait.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing Avoid

Posted Sep 5, 2016
The breakfast is disappointing, the location was not at all very nice surrounded by sex shops and such like. We booked 4 rooms, 1 of them was very very small (like a staff room), 1 was so hot it was almost impossible to sleep in it. Would have avoided the place if I knew then what I know now. Much nicer places available, avoid.