Ratings based on 658 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South coast, England

Contributed to a very special trip

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: In particular:The staff. And the location. The immediate environs. Also: Clean, bright. Things Just Worked. Oh! and the hot drinks machine in lobby!
Cons: Not complaints
Location: Covered in the above, I hope? Is at east end of city.
I'd gone to Hamburg for something special in my life. The hotel not only did not "tarnish" the experience, but ADDED to it. In particular: Friendly, helpful, accomodating staff. The location was good for me, and the immediate environs of the hotel (grassy parkland, with trees) were very pleasant after time in the city centre. The hotel was not "in the centre"... but was CLOSE to it. Close in miles, and VERY close when you add in the U-Bahn (and S-Bahn) stations at Berliner Tor, just two minutes easy walk from the hotel. (And the S-Bahn takes you directly... 20 minutes?, Euro 3.20 (or included, if you use a Hamburg card... good for tourists.) Interesting "Green Roof" on the canopy over entrance... don't miss that! You can have a good look at it from the stairway from the lobby. Be sure to try the hot milk with vanilla from the lobby drinks machine. VERY nice at end of day!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2017 by Matt, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the nice comments! We hope to accomodate you again! Best regards Matthias Schönfeldt Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Room was fine, Breakfast was good. Person on reception when I arrived, could not have been more disinterested though
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Good evening! Thank you for your feedback! Fine, that you enjoyed your stay! We will talk with the receptionist, who checked you in instantly! Have a nice weekend! Best regards from Hamburg, Matthias Schönfeldt (Guest Relations Manager)
3 out of 5
by Chris

Good functional hotel

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is perfectly fine and functional if a bit 'tired'. Best thing is the proximity to an excellent transport hub which gives fast easy access to the whole of Hamburg.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad start, but otherwise OK

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
Initially got put in a smoker's room despite booking a non-smoking room because no other rooms were available. Then had to move to another room for the duration of my stay. Despite this bad start, hotel is modern and comfortable. Its off-centre location worked for me as I wanted to be near the U4 metro line which had a station nearby. It is quite a long walk to the city centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County Cal..

Nice Hotel near Berliner Tor train station

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Pretty much everthing..
Cons: The duvets on the pillows and blankets were scratchy and needed to be removed. The only thing I would change..
Location: Unbelievable location, just a short walk or 7 euro taxi ride from Central Station, and the hop on hop off.. just 250 yards from Berliner Tor station.
Great Hotel! 1 block from the trains, yet quiet , set in a park area. Staff is super nice and helpful. and multi-lingual., descent buffet with American style food. Way better than it looks in the pictures.. and great price!
4 out of 5
by sebastian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2017
The location of hotel was far away from events in Hamburg, but good access to public transportation. All things were nice, but there is problem with the door of my room. My room was in a corridor that was separate from the main corridor. every time, someone came to corridor, the door of room started to shake. Specially, in the morning around 8, so many people came inside of corridor. I could not sleep well in the morning. In addition, there was another problem. I cant understand this strange thing. The room was very nice protected from noise from outside of hotel, but the noise of inside hotel can easily come to the room. Maybe, it as the problem of the door of my hotel.
5 out of 5
by carol

Would recommend for short stay

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
Perfectly locate hotel, right next to Berliner Tor station from where you can catch a train to most places of interest. The hotel is clean, staff are friendly and helpful and it has recently been refurnished. The only downsides are the price of breakfast ( however there are several cheap options nearby) and the hotel bedrooms and bathrooms are very small but perfectly adequate for a short break.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay! We would be happy welcoming you again! Best regards from Hamburg Matthias Schönfeldt Guest Relations Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

City Break

Posted Jan 23, 2017
We chose this hotel for its location and price. We were upgraded to a studio which was not huge but adequate. It was however very clean with a lovely comfortable bed. Very disappointed with not having an Iron and an ironing board in the room. As a couple from the UK we expected Tea and coffee making facilities in the room (but there was none!) We also expected to have a selection of English speaking channels on the TV(there was only 1news channel). This was disappointing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice stay

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Spacious room , clean bathroom
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are happy that you had a nice time in our hotel! Best regards Matthias Schönfeldt Guest Relations Manager