Ratings based on 692 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Great hotel, great value, not far from centre

Posted Dec 5, 2016
We stayed here in December to visit the Christmas markets. The hotel is located opposite the lake, it's about a 15-20 minute stroll to the centre. The hotel is close to the St Gorg area which is a street full of lots of restaurants, bars and cafes and a good place to go out in the evenings. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We had a premium room which had two bathrooms which wasn't expected but great! The room was well prepared and clean. We didn't eat in the hotel as we could get breakfast from one of the numerous cafes on the way into the centre. Overall a great place, good value for money and in a fairly good location. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Franziska, Hotel Management
Dear Anthea, many thanks for your outstanding feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward seeing you again. Best regards, Franziska Noeckel / Review Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice staff, nice area, horrible beds

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
Decent hotel in a nice area. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The beds (and bedding) were horribly uncomfortable and the shower very cramped.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your feedback. We regret that you did not feel comfortable in our beds. The matresses are quite new, but some guests prefer hard ones and other like more soft matresses. It is difficult to meet the preferences of every guest. Next time you can try a bed in a different room category. Perhaps this will be more comfortable to you. Nevertheless we are looking forward seeing you again. Best regards, Franziska Noeckel / Review Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel with Great Access to Visitor Areas

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
Very good stay; easy access to walking along lake, easy to access tourist areas-fishermen area and docks:easy access to area by Rathaus
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward seeing you again. Best regards, Franziska Noeckel / Review Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable & pleasant, but dated hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Comfortable room and clean, great staff and great breakfast!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by Franziska, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, many thanks for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward seeing you again. Best regards, Franziska Noeckel / Review Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Very pleasant stay. Receptionist highly efficient and friendly. Clean room (although the carpet is slightly smelly).
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, many thanks for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward seeing you again. Best regards, Franziska Noeckel / Review Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2016
The hotel is very nicely located, clean, good breakfast and nice staff. The room was quite large and the bed was comfortable. Perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by Franziska, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward seeing you again. Best regards, Franziska Noeckel / Review Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Excellent value for money

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: The price, the location, and the best breakfast buffet I have seen in a long time. Very helpful staff.
Location: The hotel is near downtown Hamburg and the very hip St. Georg neighborhood, with its restaurants and boutiques.
I stayed at the hotel for two nights. I enjoyed the quite room and the closeness to all the places I needed to visit in Hamburg.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by Franziska, Hotel Management
Dear Houchang, many thanks for your outstanding feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward seeing you again. Best regards, Franziska Noeckel / Review Manager
4 out of 5
by Theresa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great location, old world charm and comfort.

Posted Jan 26, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Rooms are lovely and quiet. Nice bath.
Cons: Tea and coffee in the room.
Location: Great location, nice aspect and close to lots of restaurants and shops. Also a nice walk to the station.
A nice walk from the station, beautiful location, close to restaurants and shops. Enjoyed our stay, very relaxing, loved the bath and the rooms are charming. Would have liked tea and coffee in the room. Nice breakfast in the restaurant.
3 out of 5
by Anna from Sydney

Nice but will be better when refurbishment is done

Posted Jan 21, 2016 on Hotels
Would have given this hotel a higher overall score but it is currently being refurbished and rather than start at the lower levels, the upper level rooms seem to have been finished first so you pass through a building site on your way up the stairs! And the rickety uneven staircase is a worry in itself! Those rooms that are refurbished are lovely tho, very comfortable and extremely cozy beds. Massive bathroom with double sink and super shower. Nice bar and restaurant in the basement with open fire but bar staff seemed to be rather more attentive to locals than visitors when we were there. Location is on the larger lake and a bit out of the way, tho the interesting parts of Hamburg are quite spread out and this would be a lovely location to have as a base in Spring / Summer. Would recommend this hotel to others but will probably try somewhere else on our next stay in Hamburg.