Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Stuart from Jersey, Channel islands

Hotel with a Heart

Posted Mar 14, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was chosen due to location to intended business - far surpassing what was expected the hotel has character stamped upon it by the owners - a delight to stay in with peaceful & beautiful surroundings - friendly and helpful owner and staff - food was excellent - would be happy to visit again as a 'getaway'- a taste of Normandy I will never forget!
5 out of 5
by James from Paris

A relaxing gastronomic stay..

Posted Mar 7, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely stay at a lovely hotel with excellent food and very kind staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Restored farmstead in beautiful Normandy

Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
La Ferme des Mares is a beautifully restored farmstead run by a young couple, the husband being a very gifted chef.The location feels remote, but is actually close to beaches and steps away from lovely walking paths through the salt marshes.My only somewhat negative comment is that the breakfast is a bit sparse for the price.
4 out of 5
by Agnes

A peaceful retreat

Posted Sep 1, 2015 on Hotels
Really lovely place. Quiet and peaceful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, USA

Wonderful find in Normandy

Posted Aug 15, 2014
I stayed here with my two chidlren in the family suite for two nights in August 2013. This is a lovely property in a small village near to al the D Day sites, the beaches, etc... It is incredibly picturesque and well appointed. The staff was very welcoming, friendly and assited us throughout out stay. We had dinner one night in the restaurant. It was a traditional french meal which even my children loved. Our room was very clean and comfortabole and I hope to return someday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well situated, quite and peaceful with good views.

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: We felt it was very friendly and had a comfortable/welcoming atmosphere. Also the evening meal was fabulous!! The breakfast very good too.
Cons: Nothing.
We thoroughly enjoyed our one night and wished we could have stayed longer. The owners were especially nice and very helpful.
2 out of 5
by Morgan from Dublin, Ireland

Treated poorly by the owners, not pleasant

Posted Oct 13, 2013 on Hotels
We were very disappointed to find out when we arrived that we were not able to have dinner at the hotel - which we booked specifically for the restaurant reviews!! Anytime there have been restrictions, I have been advised by email from the proprietors in advance - but these owners say that Hotels.com doesn't provide them with our email details, which is curious because the other 2 hotels we stayed on this same trip sent me direct emails prior to confirm specific requirements, so I am inclined to think that these folks weren't completely honest in this regard. What perturbed me more was the manner in which the owners spoke to us, they were so condescending when telling us that we would have to travel to another town!! to have dinner - they treated us like it was our fault that we hadn't called to book the restaurant in advance. Who ever thought that if you booked a night at a hotel that they wouldn't have room for you to eat there!!!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Superb quality and quiteness

Posted Jun 9, 2013
Pros: Position, quality, food and wine cellar
Cons: Outside appearence could be improved
Location: Rural and quite
Perfect location for quite enjoyment. Very friendly owner. Great rooms - we were given an upgrade. Excellent food. Good value if looking for value. Would certainly stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Jean-Eric

Cadre exceptionnel et cuisine excellente

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Accueil très agréable,calme et gastronomie.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Caen

un lieu propice à la détente

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: le calme, la qualité de l'accueil, la chambre
Cons: ras
Location: sud cotentin avec ses plages sauvages, ses dunes. L'endroit est propice à la détente, aux ballades...
Excellent accueil de Sonia et Mike qui se sont pliés en quatre pour nous. Le lieu est enchanteur, la bâtisse magnifique et rénovée avec goût et sobriété.