Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Old tired run down hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Bathroom had mould on grouting smashed tiles. Dirty skirting. Old small towels. Paper cups for our tea. The bar consisted of a few bottles of spirits!! Could not offer much choice for such a big hotel. Staff in-interested. Never again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect little town

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing town with an awesome spa .. should have taken more advantage of the spa
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

On the beach

Posted May 24, 2017
Amenities and staff are excellent, too bad that the whole building is so out of tune with the surrounding village
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tunbridge Wells

A Delightful stay in St John de Luz

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: a more specific bar area
Location: Location excellent to enjoy the very good town.
The hotel staff were very welcoming on our arrival and that level of service was maintained throughout the hotel during our stay The Spa facilities were very good. Hotel location perfect, for enjoying the lovely town & beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from idaho

No views. Good location

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Location. Nice pools in spa.
Cons: Internet
Location: Everything is close. Easy walk from train station.
None of the rooms have sea views. The internet barely worked. The staff were nice. We loved Pub du Corsaires for late night drinks, especially Manon - this bar is a 10 minute walk from the hotel. They make great drinks and even have a beer (IPA) from Boise, Idaho. Open to 2 every night which was appreciated in this sleepy town. Chez Theo has very good food and service.
4 out of 5
by Adrian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The best hotel in Saint Jean de Luz

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
Helianthal is a lovely hotel. I stayed at another spa hotel in Saint Jean de Luz last year and found the atmosphere there cold and unwelcoming. In contrast, Helianthal is warm and cosy and full of kind people (staff and guests) who make your stay that more delightful. The seawater spa parcours is close to visiting heaven. Heaven on earth with walks on the beach in your dressing gown, in February! I hope to return every year, maybe twice a year.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
The wifi was terrible. Beach access so easy. Breakfast good but expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from saddleworth

Good location,exceleny gym, helpful staff

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Staff Gym. Location
Cons: Free parking
Location: Great beach
Said it all above, asking me to right more is stupid
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Smart, comfortable hotel next to the beach

Posted Jul 29, 2015
We had a great fortnight's holiday here. Our superior rooms were smart and spacious with good air conditioning and with balconies that enjoyed shade in the afternoon. The location is very good - effectively right on the beach with the town centre no more than few minutes' walk away. The gym and spa facilities were excellent. There was not a great deal of fluent English spoken amongst the staff but with goodwill on both sides this was not an issue. We cannot comment on the food - there are so many good places to eat in St Jean-de-Luz that we ate out all the time. Both Hotel Helianthal and St Jean-de-Luz are highly recommended!