Ratings based on 433 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fredericton NB

Centrally located

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Hotel is in a great location. Room looked exactly like the picture. The hotel itself is undergoing renovations so no pool or fitness centre but they do give you vouchers for local aquatic centre and gym. I had a bad experience staying here as the manager tried to get into our room at 3:00am. He did not know the room was occupied and booked another guest for our room. When the guest couldn't get in (because I locked the door) the manager came up to let the guest in. Thankfully I also had the latch on the door so it wouldn't fully open but in my opinion it was handled poorly. The manager should have known it was occupied as he would have had to first unlock it and then he was trying to open the latch with his fingers through the door. It was very scary to wake up to a 3:00am confused and not knowing who it was or what was happening.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2017
The hotel is located downtown Saint John. Great walking distance to all of the local markets. The food is great. The hotel was pleasant and friendly. If you need to get to the airport they have a taxi service that you can reserve at any time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Room facing roof

Posted Aug 5, 2017
No gym or pool facility open,Room facing a roof while many other rooms available.Facility is undergoing renovations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Very friendly front desk staff, close to nice brewpubs, whiskey bars, and other restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Stephen W - Revenue Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had an enjoyable experience staying with us in Uptown Saint John. Be sure to join us again soon for another great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Cons: Check in staff was a bit stiff but restaurant staff very cordial.
Our rental car was sideswiped in the parking garage. We called the hotel who referred us to the parking garage who manages the garage. They returned our call - a surprise. They could not help us but we appreciated their return call.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Stephen W, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience. We are sorry to hear that your vehicle was sideswiped in the parking garage. We are glad to hear that our restaurant staff were very cordial. Thank you again for sharing and we look forward to any future opportunity to have you with us for a better experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet hotel in nice downtown location

Posted Jul 7, 2017
We are always pleased with our stays at Delta hotels throughout Canada. Our stay at this Delta was the 2nd stop on our east coast honeymoon adventure and the staff at the hotel truly made it a memorable experience. The hotel was under renovation and the staff ensured we had a lovely, newly renovated room as well as surprised us with a bottle of champagne to help us celebrate our honeymoon!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Stephen W, Hotel Management
Congratulations! It was our pleasure to be part of your honeymoon celebration. Thanks for choosing Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John. Don't forget to book your 1st anniversary for another great experience! Wishing you both the best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampton NB

Nice Hotel but disappointed

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff. Nice view. Comfortable room with a mini fridge.
Cons: Just making sure guests are aware of facility closures and inconveniences before or at the time of booking. I do appreciate they need to do upgrades.
Location: Great location. Probably the best location in Saint John for ease and convenience.
I have no complaints about this hotel in general. Friendly staff, lovely clean room and nice views of the city. My only problem was I chose that hotel because it has a pool and hot tub but after checking into our room I found out it was closed for renovations. If I had been informed this at the time of booking either through the Trivago website, which does have an area where the hotel can inform guests of that, or at the front desk I probably would have stayed somewhere else. The staff gave us a free breakfast for our inconvenience. We did appreciate that but we were still disappointed. I could have gone to the Hilton for the same price or stayed at a much cheaper room in a place with no pool or hot tub. I would just like the hotel to update their website with the information that some services may not be available due to renovations. Hopefully that has been done. At the time I found out I double checked both trivago and the Delta website and there was no notification. I would stay there again but will check that certain amenities are indeed available. PS They were very nice to accommodate my wish , in advance, of staying on a higher floor with a city view and allowed us to check in earlier.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Stephen W, Hotel Management
Jill, Thank you for your review of your recent stay. We look forward to the completion of the health club renovations in the coming weeks. We apologize for the inconvenience that this caused. We are glad that you chose to stay with us and had a great experience with our staff in your room with a view. Be sure to join us again soon for a whole new experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Nice hotel in the city centre

Posted Jul 4, 2017
This Delta is located near various nice location right behind the city market and a charming downtown area. It is also located near the Brunswick Square. The room is very clean, comfortable and spacious. The reception service and check-in was excellent. The only criticism is with the parking. It is more convenient to choose the valet parking although costing more. If not, the self parking is shared with the mall next door and the elevator is located at the other end which makes taking bags a little inconvenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Stephen W - Revenue Manager, Hotel Management
Kim, Thank you for sharing your experience. We are trilled that you had a great experience with us. Thank you for your feedback about self-park. We encourage our guests to join us at our valet entrance for assistance with luggage and to best direct you to self-parking and how to get back. We are glad that you had an excellent check-in and look forward to your next stay with us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2017
First room we wefe in after ckeck-in was small and irregular shaped and had hair on the shower walls, had shampoo and conditioner but no soap bar. Our impression was the bathroom was not cleaned. We were offered to change room. 2nd room was larger, not upgrade since it was same 2 double beds no view. We checked in late so if this room was available why were we put in other one first.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Stephen W - Revenue Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize that you were not offered an upgrade. We take cleanliness very seriously and have looked into this to help prevent other guests from having the same experience. Please join us again in the future for a better experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel reno's

Posted Jul 2, 2017
got to the hotel om ly to find it having a facelift....the pool and gym are both closed
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Stephen W - Revenue Manager, Hotel Management
We look forward to our pool and gym opening again in a few weeks. It our pleasure to offer our guests access to the Canada Games Aquatic Centre in the meantime.