Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barry from Sutton-in-Ashfield

Beautiful, comfortable restored home

Posted Oct 20, 2013
Location: Near the reversing falls
Beautiful restored house with an historic NB vibe to it. Spacious room. Hosts were wonderful and provided excellent advice to guide our activities and dining. Hot breakfast was different everyday and delicious. Wish we could have stayed longer
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A great place to stay. Enjoyed the ambiance.

Posted Sep 27, 2013
Pros: The ambiance and the breakfast
Location: Good location - easy access to lots of things in Saint John
Enjoyed the stay. The owners are very friendly. The other guests were enjoyable and the breakfast was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland Oregon

Ok inn but not a very easy location

Posted Aug 30, 2013
Not a great location Average experience adequate breakfast
5 out of 5
by TL from Florida

Pleasant stay

Posted Aug 19, 2013 on Hotels
We enjoyed the two nights we stayed at the B&B. Notwithstanding the historic aspect and the many beautiful period pieces, host Ralph was very informative and a delight in conversation. Our room had a nice view of the city and harbor. The bedroom was well appointed, nice bed and bath facilities. The breakfast was also nice with the full complement of tea/coffee, juices, cereals, hot entrees, fruit and assorted breads/scones. All in all, a convenient location to the downtown and the reversing falls, approximately a 20/10 minutes respectively. This Inn is also pet friendly and has WIFI.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julia from Washington DC

Lots of Character and Charm

Posted Jun 23, 2013
Pros: Welcomes dogs, beautifully restored historic house, friendly and knowledgeable owners. Breakfast was very good.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
We stopped for just one night on our way from Boston up to PEI, and just needed a nice place to rest our heads and let our dogs stay. The owner/manager was a terrific source of information (if he suggests something to do, you should do it). Breakfast was excellent and the house is beautifully restored and in an interesting neighborhood. Good value for the price.
5 out of 5
by Florence

Gerat breakfast, delightful host

Posted Oct 8, 2012 on Hotels
Homeport B&B is a very interesting, excellent place to stay. The owner, who was taking care of things alone while his wife was away, was most helpful, welcoming, and pleasant. The B&B itself was quite interesting, the room comfortable, and the breakfast exceptional. The owner was quite helpful in providing information on sightseeing and restaurants. The room was quite comfortable in spite of the high number of steps to get there. But that staircase is magnificent. The location turned out to be very convenient and the view of the city wonderful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent spot!

Posted Aug 25, 2012 on Hotels
Wonderful way to experience St. John's history.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely historic home with water view

Posted Aug 5, 2012 on Hotels
We were graciously greeted by the owner when we arrived. Our room was up quite a few stairs, but was clean and satisfactory. Their policy of locking the front door was awkward, having to lock and relock after every trip to the car, both unloading and loading. The area was beautiful, neighborhood full of old sea captain's homes ship builder's homes. The yard was very nice with views of the ocean.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better than a B&B

Posted Jul 10, 2012 on Hotels
The Homeport was charming, picturesque, comfortable, and affordable, with amazing views of the harbor. We were lucky enough to arrive on Canada Day, so that from the lawn behind the inn we could take in an amazing fireworks display over the harbor. Often B&Bs in old houses can be noisy and cramped, but this one was not. We would definitely return to this inn with the intention of spending more time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Horst from Wien, A

Dem Einheitsbrei entfliehen!

Posted Aug 1, 2013
Pros: Familiäres Hotel abseits des Mainstreams
Cons: Starker Hundegeruch
Location: Gegenüber des Hafens von St.John mit wunderbaren Blick darauf
Zwei alte Häuser wurden zu einem verbunden, mit einem großen Salon mit Blick auf den Hafen ausgestattet und mit reichlich historischen Gegenständen dekoriert. Eine wirklich sehenswerte Lokation. Natürlich muss man bereit sein in alten Räumlichkeiten zu wohnen, in denen Böden knarren oder Türen nicht dicht schließen. Die Besitzer haben aus dem Haus aber eine familiäre Bleibe für Reisende gemacht! Vor allem das große gemeinsame Frühstück, liebevoll zubereitet, bei dem sich Gäste kennen lernen ist ein wirkliches Highlight! Ein muss für alle die dem Einheitsbrei entfliehen wollen.